Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! No result

    PHOTO REPORT: In the streets of Greece on the eve of the referendum, by Chloé Kritharas Devienne

    26-year-old Franco-Greek photojournalist Chloé Kritharas Devienne has spent the past few years living in Athens. She photographed her city in the week leading up to the referendum on July 5.

    “Generally speaking, photographers remain neutral about their political opinions. Obviously, as a Greek in favour of the ‘No’ vote, I have a certain take on events. I don’t despise the people on the ‘Yes’ side. I respect other people’s decisions. Then again, most of the people who voted ‘Yes’ are people who only think about their money, which does disgust me a little bit, to be honest (she laughs).

    “The first photo, the one with the handcuffs, is of a man holding up a placard which reads “I have sex every day, Europe is fucking me” in front of the Finance Ministry on July 3″. The next ones were taken a few days earlier, on June 29. “That was the first big pro-‘No’, anti-referendum demonstration.”

    2

    “This woman looks distraught. It seems as if a ‘No’ vote is her only hope.” Standing in front of the Greek flag, she is holding up a placard with the word ‘No’ written on it in Greek (‘oxi’), German and English.

     3

    “The demonstration took place in front of the parliament building in Syntagma Square, right in the centre of Athens. There were 17,000 people there that day:

    3a 3b 3c

    “There was a lot of hope in people’s eyes, no annoyance. They really felt that voting ‘No’ was the solution. It was very moving.”

    4

    “This white uniform is the traditional uniform of the Greek military. Every half an hour, there is a parade in front of the Parliament. They cross, split up, then return to their positions.”

    5

    Retired Greeks lining up outside the banks to pick up their pensions on July 3: “For a few days, they were able to come and take out 150 euros instead of 50. Everyone took a ticket and waited in line. It was total chaos. There was a least a half-hour wait just to get into the bank.”

    5b

    A building in the centre of Athens.

    7 The ‘Yes’ campaigners at their rally on June 30.

    “There was a very violent atmosphere. People were furiously shouting ‘Yes! Yes! Yes!’. The President of the Greek Parliament is part of the Tsipras government, and they were screaming, ‘You dirty whore, we’re going to hang you’. At one point they saw her and rushed onto the square, towards the entrance to the Parliament, but the police stopped them.”

    8

    “For most of the ‘Yes’ supporters, this was perhaps the second time in their lives they had gone out and demonstrated. They said so themselves. They are ship owners, heads of big businesses. They are people with money. They are not the kind of people you normally see take to the streets.”

    9

    “You never see any Louis Vuitton at protests in Greece. Never. Because people who take part in demonstrations are normally destitute. That wasn’t the case here. There were people of all ages… maybe not quite so many young people as on the ‘No’ side. But most of them were wearing expensive, brand-name shirts and luxury accessories…”

    9a

    Another picture of the ‘Yes’ demonstration. The atmosphere is tense. “There were 22,000 – 23,000 people there – more than at the ‘No’ rally.”

    10

    11

    “This man said to me: ‘I worked for 43 years. It’s not right that I have to queue up for 20 minutes to get 50 euros at my age. What can I do with 50 euros a day?’. He says this at a time when Greece is dying, when three quarters of the population have no money in the bank, when kids are passing out because their families can’t feed them properly, when more and more elderly people are spending entire days begging on the streets, and when the real problem is not having to wait for 20 minutes to withdraw 50 euros, but finding a way of surviving.”

    12

    “The graffiti on this building shows an old man. He is holding a euro in his hand, and there is blood coming out of it.”

    14A policeman waiting for the start of the ‘No’ rally on July 3.

    13

    “On Friday, July 3, there was an enormous pro-‘No’ demonstration before the vote on Sunday 5. Some said there were 150,000 people there; others, 50,000. In any case, it was packed. There was a great atmosphere.”

    15

    “Because the demonstrations took place at different times, there weren’t any major problems between ‘Yes’ and ‘No’ supporters.”

    16

    17“On the evening of the ‘No’ rally, there was a concert. People were singing in unison. They had tears in their eyes.”

    18 19

    Alexis Tsipras, during his speech at the rally. “He was very emotional.” Chloé translates a passage from his speech:

    “We are free and we are breathing the air of freedom. Whatever happens, we shall be winners. Greece has won, democracy has won, blackmails and threats have been defeated.”

    20

    “This was a retired man I interviewed. He was crying. He has 4 children in their thirties, who have children themselves. He is feeding his entire family with just his pension. He told me the only hope was Tsipras and a ‘No’ vote.”

    21 22

    Two photos taken at the same time, at the end of the speech:

    23 24

    “Tsipras raised his hand, and everyone raised their hands with him. People were already totally confident that the ‘Noes’ would have it.”

    “The Greek media spread pro-‘Yes’, anti-‘No’ propaganda for a week. This vote was also a fight against their lies.”

    DSC_6568

    “This last photo was taken the day the ‘No’ vote won.” People gathered in the centre of Athens.

    “It was almost more of a celebration of the victory over the media than of the victory of the ‘No’ vote, because voting ‘No’ means there will be some very tough times ahead. People were very happy, but in a restrained way.”

    The next day, Chloé didn’t take any photos. If she could have done so, what would she have taken? “I would have taken pictures of the Greek calm. Greek people carrying on with their lives as normal, with an atmosphere of hope and joy – sure – but without overdoing it.”

    Arts Europe Grèce

    Comments
    Laura Aronica
    Journalist
    All his posts

    Cookies on Clique's website

    Découvrez comment fonctionnent les cookies et comment changer vos paramètres. Si vous continuez à utiliser notre site sans changer vos paramètres, vous consentez à l’utilisation de cookies sur notre site.

Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! Aucun résultat

    PHOTOREPORTAGE : Dans les rues grecques à l’aube du référendum, par Chloé Kritharas Devienne

    Chloé Kritharas Devienne, photoreporter franco-grecque de 26 ans, habite Athènes depuis quelques années. Elle a photographié sa ville la semaine précédant le référendum du 5 juillet.

    « En général, les photographes restent neutre sur leur avis politique. Évidemment, en tant que Grecque prenant partie pour le non, j’ai un certain regard face aux événements. Je ne méprise pas les gens du oui, je respecte les décisions d’autrui, mais sachant que la plupart des gens qui ont voté oui sont des gens qui ne pensent qu’à leur fric, ça me dégoûte un peu quand même (rires) ».

    « La première photo, celle avec les menottes, c’est un homme qui tient un panneau « I have sex everyday, Europe is fucking me », devant le Ministère des Finances, le 3 juillet ». Les suivantes ont été prises quelques jours plus tôt, le 29 juin. « C’était la première grande manif’ pro-non, et contre le référendum ».

    2

    « Cette femme a l’air désemparé, on dirait que le Non est son seul espoir ». Devant le drapeau grec, elle tient un panneau où « Non » est écrit en grec (« oxi »), en allemand et en anglais.

     3

    « La manif se tenait devant le Parlement, à Syntagma, la place centrale d’Athènes. Il y avait 17 000 personnes ce jour-là » :

    3a 3b 3c

    « Il y avait beaucoup d’espoir dans les yeux des gens, pas d’énervement. Ils avaient vraiment l’impression que le non était la solution, c’était très émouvant ».

    4

    « Ce costume blanc, c’est le costume traditionnel des militaires grecs. Toutes les demi-heures, il y a une parade devant le Parlement. Ils se croisent, ils se séparent, puis ils se remettent à leur place ».

    5

    Devant les banques, le 3 juillet, les retraités viennent chercher leur pension : « Pendant quelques jours, ils pouvaient venir récupérer 150 euros au lieu de 50, et tous les gens prenaient des tickets et faisaient la queue. C’était le chaos total, il y avait au moins une demi-heure de queue par personne juste pour rentrer dans la banque ».

    5b

    Un immeuble du centre d’Athènes.

    7 Les pro-oui, le 30 juin, lors de leur manifestation.

    « Il y avait une ambiance très violente, les gens hurlaient « Oui ! oui ! oui ! » comme des furies. La présidente du Parlement grec fait partie du gouvernement Tsipras, et eux hurlaient « sale pute on va te pendre ». Ils l’ont vue, à un moment donné, et ils se sont rués sur la place, vers l’entrée du Parlement, mais la police les a arrêtés ».

    8

    « Pour la plupart des pro-oui, c’était peut-être la deuxième fois de leur vie qu’ils sortaient manifester, ils le disaient eux-mêmes. Ce sont des armateurs, des chefs de grosses entreprises. Des gens qui ont de l’argent. Ce ne sont pas des gens que l’on voit descendre dans la rue, habituellement ».

    9

    « On ne voit jamais de Louis Vuitton aux manifs en Grèce. Jamais, parce qu’en général, ce sont les gens dans la misère qui manifestent. Là, ce n’était pas le cas. Il y avait un peu de tous les âges, peut-être un peu moins de jeunes que pour le « non ». Mais la plupart d’entre eux avaient des chemises de marque chère, des accessoires de luxe… ».

    9a

    Toujours dans la manifestation pro-oui, l’ambiance est tendue. « Il y avait 22 000 – 23 000 personnes. Il y avait plus de monde qu’à la manif du Non ».

    10

    11

    « Cet homme-là m’a dit : « J’ai travaillé 43 ans, et c’est pas normal qu’à mon âge je doive faire la queue pendant 20 minutes pour récupérer 50 euros. Qu’est-ce que je peux faire avec 50 euros par jours ?« . Il dit ça alors que la Grèce crève et que les trois quarts des gens n’ont pas d’argent à la banque, que les gosses tombent dans les pommes parce que leurs familles n’ont pas de quoi les nourrir correctement, que de plus en plus de personnes âgées arpentent les rues pour faire l’aumône pendant des journées entières, et que le réel problème n’est pas d’attendre 20 minutes et de retirer 50 euros mais de pouvoir survivre ».

    12

    « Sur cet immeuble, un graffiti représente un vieil homme. Il tient dans la main un euro, et de l’euro sort du sang ».

    14Un policier attend, avant le début de la manifestation pour le Non, le 3 juillet.

    13

    « Le vendredi 3 juillet, c’était une énorme manif’ avant le vote du dimanche pour le Non. Certains disent qu’il y avait 150 000 personnes d’autres 50 000. En tout cas, c’était rempli. Il y avait une super ambiance ».

    15

    « Comme les manifestations ont eu lieu à deux moments différents, il n’y a pas eu de gros problèmes entre les partisans du Oui et du Non ».

    16

    17« Le soir de la manifestation pro-Non, il y a eu un concert. Les gens chantaient en choeur, ils avaient les larmes aux yeux ».

    18 19

    Alexis Tsipras, pendant son discours, lors de la manifestation. « Il était très ému ». Chloé traduit un passage de son discours :

    « Nous sommes libres et nous respirons un air de liberté. Quoiqu’il se passe, nous serons des gagnants. La Grèce a gagné, la démocratie a gagné et les pressions ont été vaincues ».

    20

    « Lui, c’était un retraité que j’ai interviewé. Il pleurait. Il a 4 enfants qui ont la trentaine et qui ont eux-même des enfants. Avec sa retraite seulement, il nourrit toute la famille. Il me disait que le seul espoir résidait dans le Non et dans Tsipras ».

    21 22

    Deux photos prises au même moment, à la fin du discours :

    23 24

    « À ce moment-là, Tsipras lève la main, et tout le monde a levé la main aussi. Les gens avaient déjà totalement confiance en la victoire du Non ».

    « Les médias grecs ont fait une propagande pendant une semaine contre le Non, et pour le oui. Ce vote, ç’a aussi été un combat contre leurs mensonges ».

    DSC_6568

    « Cette dernière photo, c’est le jour de la victoire du Non ». Les gens se sont rassemblés au centre d’Athènes.

    « C’était presque plus la victoire contre les médias que celle du non, parce que la victoire du Non signifie que des moments très difficiles restent à venir. Les gens étaient très heureux, mais en retenue ».

    Le lendemain, Chloé n’a pas pris de photo. Et si elle avait pu le faire ? « J’aurais pris le calme grec, les Grecs qui continuent leur vie normalement, avec une atmosphère d’espoir et de joie c’est sûr, mais sans exagération ».

    Arts Europe Grèce

    Commentaires
    Laura Aronica
    Rédactrice en chef adjointe
    Voir tous ses billets
    Newsletter