Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! No result
    skate octagon street sport

    Skateboarding : the invisible war

    On September 9, cult surf-, snow- and skate-wear label Quiksilver filed for bankruptcy. Its brands included legendary skate-shoe manufacturer DC Shoes. Does Quiksilver's bankruptcy tell us something about the current state of skate culture?


    Since it first appeared in the late 1950s, the skateboard has influenced music and fashion and become a fixture in our streets and our culture from east to west and across the generations. Today, the global skateboarding industry lies in the hands of multinationals such as Nike and Red Bull. All of it? No! In New York and Europe, collectives of hardcore skaters are still resisting the invader from the West Coast.

    tony hawk jeu vidéo skate californie

    Tony Hawk skateboarding video game CaliforniaScreenshot from the “Tony Hawk Pro Skater 5” video game.


    In California, Tony Hawk, crowned world skateboarding champion on nine occasions at the X Games, has left his mark. Long-haired, copper-skinned skaters are synonymous with the region. Nike SB, the American giant’s skatewear range, has proved a runaway success with its expensive Street League competition, leaving the scene somewhat sanitized. The rebellious and anti-establishment spirit that originally characterized skate culture has been betrayed. Performance is all that counts. Under the Cali sun, skateboarding has undergone a lobotomy.

         RedBull Hart Lines skateboarding competition

    So there is nothing new coming from the West. The big skatewear brands that once dominated the schoolyard are now outmoded and going bust. DC Shoes, Quiksilver’s skate shoes subsidiary, has filed for bankruptcy. Only Nike, Adidas, Converse and Van’s have managed to keep a foot in each camp, through simple footwear with universal appeal. The renewal is happening in the East. The breakthrough brands on today’s skatewear market are up-and-coming operators from New York and Europe. Skate crews there are appropriating the gloomy city landscapes. They choose their tricks meticulously: meaningless performance is not their style. These youngsters are shaven-headed, with dark rings under their eyes and a rather sickly look about them. Bye bye, West Coast tan: here, everything is grey. With both feet on their boards, they are writing a manifesto for rebellion against the mainstream and its rules: a return to the very essence of skateboarding.

    In-video recommendation by

    Paramount video of the London skate crew “Palace”

    What is being sought in the East is a return to skateboarding in its rawest form, going further even than the normcore offered by brands such as Palace, Öctagon and Bronze. The videos are free. Filmed in black and white or even on VHS, they exude Tumblr culture. The era of skateshop DVDs and Tony Hawk on the PlayStation is over. What is being sold in Europe and New York is not so much a product as a visual identity.

     | 

    Surveyör video of the French crew Öctagon

    With the arrival of these new market players, skate culture, which ran out of steam somewhat in the 2000s, has found a second wind. Blink 182, Avril Lavrigne and others may have supplanted the East- and West-Coast rappers of the nineties for a period, but now, rap has once again found a place in the skating world. And vice-versa, as Lil Wayne’s exploits show.

    lil wayne rap skate street Lil Wayne rap skate streetLil Wayne, via “Huh Magazine”

    Skateboarding has become sexy and trendy again, spurring crossovers into a number of fields. It has provided inspiration for high-end streetwear, giving rise to some unlikely collaborations. American giant Van’s has joined forces with young Russian designer Gosah Rubchinskiy, while Nike is sponsoring promising young skaters. But are we witnessing the death of the California-style skate scene? No. One bloc could not exist without the other. The more the West focuses on pure performance, the more the East will channel its creativity into the polar opposite, a dynamic that is indisputably crucial if skateboarding is to keep reinventing itself and its culture is to live on.

    Society Skateboard Sport

    Comments

Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! Aucun résultat
    skate octagon street sport

    Skateboard : la guerre invisible

    Le 9 septembre dernier, Quiksilver, la marque culte des sports de glisse, a déposé le bilan. Parmi ses marques, DC Shoes, fabricant légendaire de chaussures de skate. La faillite de cette compagnie américaine serait-elle révélatrice de l'état actuel de la culture skate ?

    Apparu à la fin des années 50, le skateboard a su influencer la musique et la mode, s’imposer dans nos rues et notre culture, d’est en ouest, et de manière transgénérationnelle. Aujourd’hui, l’industrie mondiale du skate est entre les mains de multinationales telles que Nike ou Redbull. Toute ? Non ! Car à New York et en Europe, des collectifs d’irréductibles skaters résistent encore et toujours à l’envahisseur venu de la côte ouest.

    tony hawk jeu vidéo skate californieJeu vidéo « Tony Hawk Pro Skater 5 », saisie d’écran.

    En Californie, Tony Hawk, sacré neuf fois champion du monde de skateboard aux X Games, a laissé des traces. Le skater y est propret, il a le cheveu long et la peau cuivrée. Nike SB, la ligne skatewear du géant américain, a fait des ravages avec son onéreuse compétition, la Street League, et laissé un espace aseptisé. La culture skate originellement antisystème et rebelle est trahie. Seule la performance compte, sous le soleil de Cali ; le skateboard est lobotomisé.

    Compétition de skateboard Redbull Hart Lines

    À l’Ouest, donc, rien de nouveau. Les grandes marques de skate qui hantaient la cour du collège sont ringardisées et en faillite. DC Shoes, la filiale de baskets de skate de Quiksilver, a déposé le bilan. Seuls Nike, Adidas, Converse et Van’s ont réussi à garder un pied dans chaque bloc avec la niche des chaussures, simples et fédératrices. Le renouveau se fait à l’Est. Aujourd’hui, dans le marché du skatewear, ce sont les petits soldats de New York et d’Europe qui percent. Les collectifs de skate s’y approprient l’espace urbain et sa grisaille et choisissent méticuleusement leurs tricks : ils ne veulent pas de performance vide de sens. Ces jeunes ont le crane rasé, le visage cerné, l’air maladif ; adieu le bronzage de la West Coast, ici tout est gris. Les deux pieds sur leur board, ils écrivent un manifeste pour la rebellion contre cette société de masse et ses codes. Retour à l’essence même du skate.

    Vidéo Paramount du collectif londonien Palace

    C’est un retour au skate primitif que l’on cherche à l’Est, au-delà même du normcore que proposent des marques comme Palace, Öctagon ou Bronze. Les vidéos sont gratuites, en noir et blanc ou encore filmées à la VHS et complètement imprégnées de la culture Tumblr. Il est fini le temps des DVD de skateshop ou du Tony Hawk sur PlayStation. En Europe et à New York, on ne vend pas tant un produit qu’une identité visuelle.

    Vidéo Surveyör du collectif français Öctagon

    Avec l’arrivée de ces nouveaux acteurs, la culture skate a repris du poil de la bête en se renouvelant considérablement après une période d’essoufflement dans les années 2000. Le rap a retrouvé sa place dans ce milieu, après que Blink 182 et autres Avril Lavigne ont substitué les rappeurs East et West Coast des années 90. Et vice-versa, si bien que l’on est aujourd’hui spectateurs des péripéties d’un Lil Wayne à roulettes.

    lil wayne rap skate streetLil Wayne, via « Huh Magazine »

    Le skate est redevenu sexy, hype et protagoniste de crossovers dans de nombreux milieux. Ainsi, le streetwear haut de gamme s’en inspire et donne naissance à d’improbables collaborations. Le géant américain Van’s tend aujourd’hui la main à la jeune maison russe Gosha Rubchinskiy, et Nike fait dans le mécénat en sponsorisant des skaters prometteurs. Mais alors assiste-t-on à la mort prochaine du skate made in California ? Finalement non, car un bloc n’existerait pas sans l’autre. Plus l’Ouest misera sur la performance, plus l’Est axera sa créativité aux antipodes de celle-ci. Et c’est indéniablement une dynamique essentielle pour que le renouvellement dans le milieu du skate existe et que cette culture soit pérenne.

    Photographie à la Une © Maxime Verret

    Société Skateboard Sport

    Commentaires
    Inès Bouchareb
    Journaliste
    Voir tous ses billets
    Newsletter