Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! No result

    From virtual character to actual UN spokesperson. We meet ELYX and his creator, Yak

    With Elyx, his transmedia hero, Yacine Ait Kaci, aka Yak, is injecting a dose of good humour into the world of “digital street art”.
    Last year was his year. As well as enjoying roaring success on the web, Elyx became the United Nations' Digital Ambassador.
    We ran into Yacine at the Palais de Tokyo in Paris. Elyx might not speak, but the man behind the character certainly has a way with words!

    selfyx

    A fortysomething with an easy smile and a quick hand, Yacine never tires of telling the story of Elyx, his always-on-the-move character who interacts with reality via the web, his natural habitat. Thousands of fans follow his trials and tribulations for free each day.

    Auguste

    Grimpe

    IMG_7695

    Subtle and discreet in equal measure, the author is as humble and profoundly good-natured as his creation.
    He has just learned that Elyx is to play a leading role in the United Nations’ 70th anniversary celebrations in September, and could be justifiably proud of having propelled his character onto the international stage.
    From Tokyo, to Milan, to Colombia, “Elyx Parties” are being held in the four corners of the globe and, in early July, the free Elyx Smile Maker app will be available.

    TOKYO_2

    The app will allow users to have fun with Elyx, putting him in various situations and sharing their photos with their friends on social networks, such as the Instagram account which shows Elyx winning a Palme d’Or at Cannes, which has amassed over 1.2 million likes.
    When we congratulate him, he is evasive. He prefers to talk about Elyx, a hybrid creation combining photography and quickly drawn sketches.

    To understand Elyx’s traits, you have to go back twenty years, when his forerunner “Ixel” graced the pages of a magazine for teenagers.

    “While I was studying at Les Arts Décoratifs, I was selected to design a mascot for a magazine, and I fell into the digital cauldron.”

    A multimedia artist and genuine polymath, Ixel’s creator opted for a career in graphic design and animation.

    “First of all, I co-founded Electronic Shadow, but four years ago, I decided to free myself from the shackles of a profession that just wasn’t for me anymore. That was when Elyx as he is today came into being.”

    The name “Elyx”, of course, is a kind of backwards-slang transformation of “Ixel”, but Yacine also insists on the importance of the letters “X” and “Y”, the same letters used to code our genetic makeup.

    “By having both chromosomes in his name, Elyx establishes himself as a universal, inclusive character. It’s a way of breaking down barriers. Elyx turns the whole of humanity into a single organism, just as our bodies are made up of billions of different cells,” he explains, demonstrating his boundless enthusiasm for working on things that unite us.

    From early childhood, Yacine understood that we are defined by our differences, not by what we have in common.
    A little coy when talking about the first years of his life, Yacine explains that he was born in France and raised in Algiers. He remembers being able to write Arabic, but he couldn’t speak it.

    “I quickly became a foreigner in the eyes of my classmates. And when I came back to France, the same thing happened again.”

    Drawing become more than just an outlet for the man who now defines himself as a “Smile Maker”. It was a creative release valve, enabling him to express his desire to unite people to the widest possible audience. His work proved an instant hit on the web, triggering a veritable avalanche of smiles.
    Yacine’s work is often compared to that of Keith Haring, and he acknowledges that he is a product of his influences. The Moebius comics, Gary Larson, and Winsor McCay’s Little Nemo all inspired him in different ways, but what sets Elyx apart from other characters is that he has his own “organic life”.

    UDHR_ARTICLE_01 SAND Morning
    Elyx is present in the world through his smile. “Unlike laughter, smiling is a conscious act,” says Yacine. For Elyx’s creator, this smile creates a kind of transaction, which, even though it is free, has value.

    “The currency of today’s digital world is empathy. People crave ‘likes’. Paradoxically, it is that last remaining area of human influence that makes us addicted to social networks,” he analyses.

    ELYX_Louvre_2
    By swapping the keyboard for the felt-tip pen, the Smile Maker has put human intervention back at the heart of the creative process. But the simplicity of the means used in no way diminishes the wholly digital nature of the approach. Quite the opposite. Elyx is a hybrid creation combining real and virtual elements. First drawn on paper, then photographed, he turns up everywhere to express different thoughts or situations in a way that can be shared instantly by a fast-growing community.
    In the modern era, when digital tools have become such an integral part of reality that we do not even notice it any more, Elyx stands out as an eminently human form of technology.

    PRESS_3May
    Addicted to the sharing and giving economy, Yacine shows each day, through his character, that a simple message can create value.
    He quickly found favour with a plethora of meaningful projects, and soon caught the eye of the Director of Communications of the United Nations Regional Information Centre (UNRIC). Attracted by Elyx’s universal and inclusive nature, she asked to meet his creator.
    Yacine tells us about their first meeting in Brussels last July.

    “I was due to present my Elyx project, but the schedule dictated otherwise. I found myself at the first meeting of UNRIC, just after the Israeli offensive against the Gaza Strip. We were expecting a call any second from Christopher Gunness, spokesman for the UN Relief and Works Agency for Palestinian Refugees in the Near East.”

    The day before their meeting, two rockets hit a UN school in the north of the Gaza Strip. Sixteen children were killed in a classroom. “Christopher Gunness was distraught. His tears moved me deeply. I realised at that moment that tears lay at the opposite extreme of a long continuum that ends in a smile. I told them there was a long way to go to create the conditions for peace but that one day there would be a handshake, and that it would happen non-verbally.”
    As he tells this story, Yacine’s emotion is palpable.
    There was unanimous support for the Elyx project at UNRIC headquarters, and the character was duly named the UN’s virtual ambassador.

    JAZZ_Day 2_Bass

    Since then, Elyx’s success has been such that he has been involved in a number of international celebrations, such as the climate summit, revisited the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, and taken part in several world days.

     

    “The subjects we broach often resonate with tragic situations. Elyx makes it possible to convey strong messages with great goodwill. That goodwill is capital, because we all want to live in peace!”

    ELYX_PEACE_DAY ELYX_CLIMATE_CHANGE_1

    When it comes to bringing together the citizens of the world to celebrate the 70th anniversary of the United Nations, Elyx will be at the forefront.

    “He’s going to travel around the world, passing through 70 countries on five continents in 70 days, and ending up in space on October 24. His journey will take place virtually, through social networks.”

    Nicolas_Hulot Mike_BloomBerg

    For Elyx’s creator, taking action today means not just asking ourselves questions, but beginning to find concrete answers to those questions, as best our means allow.

    “I think the way in which people look at the world determines the way in which the world develops. What Elyx highlights is that to have a real political message, you can’t just set up a confrontation between groups that supposedly oppose each other.”
    That is the meaning behind Yacine’s #WeAreOne, which depicts a map of Israel and Palestine made up of a succession of Elyxes.
    Elyx has positive goals, questioning the way things are to encourage people to appreciate what is beautiful in the present, while reminding us every day that we all function in the same way. “One grain of sand at a time, we will end up creating something solid.”
    A thoroughly joyous and poetic act of resistance in our performance-obsessed lives riddled with the gnawing anxiety of more-more-more. Before we part company, we ask our Smile Maker: does Elyx have a flaw?
    The answer comes as no surprise. “Elyx is a very fragile creature,” admits Yacine, before slipping his felt-tip back into his pocket.

     

    News: TEDx Talk about Elyx – July 2015: July 4: Elyx Party at the Berges de Seine – Release of the ELYX Smile MAKER app – Android & iOS, Free – Opening of the Elyx E-Shop: http://shop.elyxyak.com

    Elyx on Instagram: https://instagram.com/elyxyak
    Elyx on Twitter: https://twitter.com/elyxyak

    Arts Digital Elyx

    Comments
    Annabelle Baudin
    Journaliste
    All his posts

    Cookies on Clique's website

    Découvrez comment fonctionnent les cookies et comment changer vos paramètres. Si vous continuez à utiliser notre site sans changer vos paramètres, vous consentez à l’utilisation de cookies sur notre site.

Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! Aucun résultat

    Quand un personnage virtuel devient le vrai porte-parole des Nations Unies. Rencontre avec ELYX et son créateur Yak

    Avec Elyx, son héros transmedia, Yacine Ait Kaci aka Yak, injecte une dose de bonne humeur dans l’univers du "digital street art".
    L’année passée a été son année. Outre le succès rencontré sur la toile, Elyx est devenu l’ambassadeur digital des Nations Unies.
    Ce jour-là, nous surprenons Yacine au Palais de Tokyo. Son personnage ne parle pas et pourtant, il réussit somptueusement son oral.

    selfyx

    La quarantaine, le sourire franc et la main qui se hâte, Yacine est intarissable lorsqu’il s’agit de relater l’histoire d’Elyx, son personnage toujours en mouvement qui interagit avec la réalité grâce au web, son écosystème naturel. Chaque jour, des milliers de fans suivent gratuitement ses tribulations.

    Auguste

    Grimpe

    IMG_7695

    Aussi subtil que discret, l’auteur est à l’image de sa création, humble et profondément bienveillant.
    Il vient d’apprendre qu’Elyx sera aux premières loges pour célébrer les 70 ans des Nations Unies à la rentrée prochaine, et pourrait s’enorgueillir d’avoir propulsé son personnage sur la scène internationale.
    De Tokyo, à la Colombie en passant par Milan, des «Elyx Party» se multiplient aux quatre coins du monde, et début juillet, l’application gratuite Elyx Smile Maker sera disponible.

    TOKYO_2

    Chacun pourra s’amuser avec Elyx, et le mettre en scène avant de partager ses photos sur les réseaux sociaux, à l’instar du compte d’Instagram où Elyx décroche la palme d’or un avec plus d’1 million 200 000 like.
    Nous le félicitons, il se dérobe. Il préfère parler d’Elyx né d’un travail hybride, mêlant photographie et dessins croqués sur le vif.

    Pour comprendre les traits d’Elyx, il faut revenir vingt ans en arrière, à l’époque où les facéties de son ancêtre prénommé « Ixel » agrémentent un magazine pour adolescents.

    «Durant mes études aux Arts Décoratifs, j’ai été sélectionné pour façonner la mascotte d’un magazine, puis je suis tombé dans le chaudron du numérique.»

    Artiste multimédia, véritable touche à tout, le créateur d’Ixel décide de se lancer dans le graphisme et l’animation.

    «J’ai d’abord cofondé Electronic Shadow, mais il y a quatre ans, j’ai décidé de m’échapper d’un carcan professionnel qui ne me correspondait plus. C’est alors qu’Elyx, tel qu’il est aujourd’hui, a vu le jour.»

    Si le nom d’Elyx est la métamorphose verlanesque d’Ixel, Yacine insiste sur les deux lettres «X et Y» qui rappellent celles de l’ADN.

    «Par la présence de ces deux chromosomes dans son prénom, Elyx affirme son caractère universel et inclusif. C’est une façon d’abolir les frontières. À travers Elyx, l’humanité devient un organisme en soi, de la même façon que notre corps est composé de milliards de cellules différentes,» explique- t-il, mû par l’enthousiasme de celui qui n’a de cesse de vouloir travailler sur ce qui nous unie.

    Dès sa prime enfance, Yacine a compris, que l’on est déterminé par sa différence et non par son point commun.
    Pudique, lorsqu’il évoque les premières années de sa vie, Yacine raconte qu’il est né en France et a grandi à Alger. Il se souvient qu’il savait écrire l’arabe, mais ne le parlait pas.

    « Je suis, de fait, rapidement devenu un étranger aux yeux de mes camarades. Et lorsque je suis rentré en France, la même histoire s’est reproduite. »

    Au-delà de l’exutoire, dessiner devient pour celui qui se définit comme un « Smile Maker » une soupape créative lui permettant d’exprimer cette volonté de relier en s’adressant à tous. En témoigne le succès rencontré sur la toile où il déclenche instantanément une avalanche de sourires.
    Souvent comparé au travail de Keith Haring, Yacine avoue être le fruit de ses influences. Les BD Moebius, en passant par Gary Larson ou encore Little Nemo de Winsor Mccay, l’ont toutes nourrit différemment, mais ce qui différencie Elyx d’autres personnages c’est qu’il possède une « vie organique. »

    UDHR_ARTICLE_01 SAND Morning
    Elyx est au monde via son sourire, «contrairement au rire, le sourire est un acte conscient,» indique Yacine. Pour le créateur d’Elyx, ce sourire créé une forme de transaction, laquelle même gratuite a de la valeur.

    « La monnaie du digital aujourd’hui, c’est l’empathie. On court après les j’aime et les like, c’est paradoxalement ce dernier pré-carré humain qui nous rend accro aux réseaux sociaux, » analyse-t-il.

    ELYX_Louvre_2
    C’est aussi, en troquant le clavier par le feutre, via le geste de la main, que le Smile Maker a réintégré l’humain au cœur de son processus créatif. Pourtant, la simplicité des moyens n’annihile en rien le caractère pleinement digital de la démarche, bien au contraire. Hybridation entre réel et virtuel, Elyx croqué sur papier puis pris en photo s’incarne partout pour exprimer une pensée, une situation, partagée instantanément par une communauté en plein essor.
    Dans cette époque où le numérique s’insinue tant dans le réel qu’on ne le remarque plus, Elyx apparaît alors comme une technologie éminemment humaine.

    PRESS_3May
    Accro à l’économie du don et du partage, grâce à son personnage, Yacine démontre chaque jour qu’un message simple, peut créer de la valeur.
    De fait, il se retrouve assez vite plébiscité pour une multitude de projets porteurs de sens, et ne tarde pas à taper dans l’œil de la Directrice de la Communication du Centre d’information régional des Nations Unies (l’UNRIC). Interpellée par le caractère universel et inclusif d’Elyx, elle demande à rencontrer son créateur.
    Yacine revient alors sur son premier rendez-vous à Bruxelles en juillet dernier.

    « J’étais attendu pour présenter mon projet Elyx, mais le calendrier en a voulu autrement. Je me suis retrouvé à la première réunion de l’UNRIC, juste après l’offensive israélienne contre la bande de Gaza. Nous attendions un appel imminent de Christopher Gunness, le porte-parole de l’Office de secours des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés de Palestine dans le Proche-Orient. »

    La veille de leur rencontre, deux obus frappent de plein fouet une école de l’ONU au nord de la bande de Gaza. Seize enfants sont tués dans une salle de classe. «Christopher Gunness était effondré. Ses larmes m’ont bouleversé. J’ai pris conscience à cet instant que les larmes étaient l’extrême opposé d’une longue ligne au bout de laquelle il y a un sourire. Je leur ai dit qu’il y avait un chemin à parcourir pour créer les conditions de la paix mais qu’un jour il y aura une poignée de main, et que cela passera par le non-verbal.»
    A l’évocation de ce souvenir, l’émotion de Yacine est vive.
    Au siège de l’UNRIC, l’adhésion au projet Elyx est unanime, il devient l’ambassadeur virtuel de l’ONU.

    JAZZ_Day 2_Bass

    Depuis, le succès est tel qu’Elyx intervient sur de nombreuses célébrations internationales comme le sommet sur le climat, revisite la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme et, participe à de nombreuses journées mondiales.

    « Les sujets que nous abordons sont souvent en résonnance avec des situations dramatiques. Elyx permet de transmettre des messages forts avec une grande bienveillance. Cette bienveillance, il est capital qu’on l’assume aujourd’hui, car on a tous envie de vivre en paix ! »

    ELYX_PEACE_DAY ELYX_CLIMATE_CHANGE_1

    Et lorsqu’il s’agit de rassembler les citoyens du monde entier pour célébrer les 70 ans des Nations Unies, Elyx est au premier plan.

    « Il va entreprendre un voyage autour du monde à travers 70 pays sur les cinq continents en 70 jours, pour finir dans l’espace le 24 octobre prochain. Ce voyage se fera virtuellement via les réseaux sociaux. »

    Nicolas_Hulot Mike_BloomBerg

    Pour le créateur d’Elyx, agir aujourd’hui, ce n’est pas seulement se poser des questions mais commencer à y répondre concrètement, à la mesure de ses moyens.

    «Je pense que la façon de regarder le monde induit la manière dont il évolue. Ce qu’Elyx met en lumière, c’est que pour avoir un véritable message politique, il ne s’agit pas d’opposer des groupes supposés les uns contre les autres.»
    C’est le sens que Yacine donne à son #WeAreOne représentant une carte d’Israël et de la Palestine constituée par une multitude d’Elyx.
    Questionnant l’existant pour donner à voir le présent à l’aune de ce qui est de plus beau, tout en nous rappelant chaque jour que nous fonctionnons tous de la même façon, Elyx conspire positivement. «Grain de sable après grain de sable, on finit par engendrer quelque chose de solide. »
    Un acte de résistance résolument joyeux et poétique dans nos vies arc-boutées sur la performance et rongées par l’angoisse du toujours plus. Avant de le quitter, nous demandons à notre Smile Maker si Elyx a un défaut ?
    La réponse peut ne pas surprendre. « Elyx est un être très fragile », reconnait Yacine avant de remettre son feutre dans sa poche.

     

    Actu : TEDx Talk à propos d’Elyx – Juillet 2015 : 4 Juillet : Elyx Party sur les Berges de Seine – Sortie de l’Application ELYX Smile MAKER – Android & iOs, Gratuite – Ouverture de l’E-Shop Elyx : http://shop.elyxyak.com

    Elyx sur Instagram : https://instagram.com/elyxyak
    Elyx sur Twitter : https://twitter.com/elyxyak

    Arts Digital Elyx

    Commentaires
    Annabelle Baudin
    Journaliste
    Voir tous ses billets
    Newsletter