Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! No result

    Paltrips.ps, an online cultural and travel guide to Palestine

    To show Palestinian cities and Palestinian lives in another light: that is the aim of Paltrips.ps, an entirely online guide that takes tourists off the beaten track. We spoke to Victoria, the woman responsible for the project, who is currently based in Ramallah.

    What can you tell me about your project?
    The project came into being a year ago. It was instigated by the Franco-German Cultural Centre in Ramallah, which is home to the Institut Français and the Goethe Institut, two separate entities which share a building and cooperate on a number of projects. The idea was to meet a need identified among young tourists, be they foreign or Palestinian, by providing them with a guide to the country. That is how paltrips.ps was born. Exclusively web-based, it is made up of written contributions (articles, interviews), video and audio. The site’s main language is English, but it also contains texts written in Arabic, German and French and translated into English.

    Jericho10Jéricho © paltrips.ps

    How did you go about producing this guide? Who provided the content?
    Because it’s a Franco-German initiative, we saw this project as a cooperation between young journalists from France, Germany and Palestine. In late September last year, young journalists came to Palestine for ten days to visit all the cities so that they would be able to talk about them and share their experiences.

    How did you choose them?
    We preferred people who had already been here or already had a good knowledge of the country. We chose young professionals so that we could be sure to have high-quality content.

    Jericho7
    Jéricho © paltrips.ps

    Is doing something like this in Palestine very different from doing it in Paris?
    Yes, in as much as the image people have of Palestine abroad is not necessarily the right one. Through this project, we would like to break down the stereotypes that exist about Palestine and the images people see through the media, which are essentially of war. There is a war going on, but there is another side to the country too…

    The image we present isn’t a false image. It’s an image that comes from Palestinians, based on our everyday experiences as young people living in the country.

    So what do you show, exactly?
    That if you come to Palestine, you can enjoy yourself, you can party, you can drink, you can go out and make friends, just like anywhere else… I wouldn’t say life is wonderful and everything is rosy. It’s not. But life goes on, places keep on opening and flourishing, and there are always new ideas emerging. It never stops, really. Especially at the moment.

    jerusalemOld City, Jerusalem  © paltrips.ps

    How do you explain that?
    It comes from the young people, who have travelled a lot and lived abroad, and are saying to themselves, “We’ve got an amazing country and the market is totally untapped, so there are really lots of things we can do”. For instance, the start-up scene is extremely vibrant, with a particular focus on technology and IT projects. We talk about that on the site, actually.

    Did you choose touristy places? If the site was about Paris, would you be showing us the Eiffel Tower, or places that are a little more alternative?
    We try to be a little alternative. Take Bethlehem, for instance. The best-known monument is Christ’s birthplace, the Church of the Nativity.

    What we show is a little museum in the Old City, just next to that church, and, for example, a nice little café that is popular with young people.

    The site contains a list of the topics we have talked about. We do a lot of stuff about food, nightlife, architecture, scenery, etc.

    The Institut français on Charles de Gaulle Street (which the locals have renamed “Sharl Degoul Street”), the only cultural centre in Gaza that is open to all.

    Can you separate all this from the conflict?
    It’s hard, but our project is really not about activism.

    How is Palestine’s tourist industry doing?
    Tourism is one of the most important sectors for the economy, but there are lots of restrictions on tourism in Palestine, particularly in terms of travelling around, and the sector is generating little economic benefit. It’s a sector that is ripe for development. That’s when only talking about politics and occupation becomes problematic.

    On a very practical level, can a tourist honestly come here and feel safe?
    We’re not going to deny that there are problems. When you get to the airport, there are things you can say and things you can’t say. It’s all part of the game. I’ve got a friend who is visiting Palestine for the first time at the moment. I don’t think she feels very comfortable when she crosses the roadblock to get to the other side, to Jerusalem or the Israeli cities. And I can understand that… we don’t feel comfortable either. Crossing the border between Palestine and Israel – when we are allowed to do so, that is – is never the highlight of the day.

    naplouseOne of the last remaining tile workshops in the region, in Nablus © paltrips.ps

    Can you give me your top 3 cool places to go in Palestine?
    On a large scale, I really like the city of Nablus, which is a little further north. The food is good, the Old City is really nice, and when you visit, you can’t see anything but the city itself, because it’s nestled in a valley between two mountains. The city stretches as far as the eye can see. There’s an article on it, actually. I really like Ramallah, too. And Bethlehem, because that’s where I’m from! But in general, there are still lots of places we still have to cover. We’d like to develop the site and add new projects.

    Take another look at our interview with Arab Idol winner Mohammed Assaf, who is from Palestine: “Mohammed Assaf: Arab Idol”

    > Facebook page of paltrips.ps

    Society Guide Palestine

    Comments
    Laura Aronica
    Journalist
    All his posts

Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! Aucun résultat

    Paltrips.ps, un guide touristique et culturel de la Palestine sur Internet

    Montrer un autre aspect des villes et des vies palestiniennes : c'est l'objectif de Paltrips.ps, un guide exclusivement en ligne qui emmène les touristes hors des sentiers battus. Conversation avec Victoria, manager du projet, actuellement à Ramallah.

    Peux-tu me parler de votre projet ?
    C’est un projet né il y a un an à l’initative du centre culturel franco-allemand à Ramallah, qui rassemble l’Institut Français et le Goethe Institut, deux entités séparées qui partagent un bâtiment et coopèrent sur de nombreux projets. L’idée, c’était de correspondre à un besoin qui était celui de jeunes touristes, qu’ils soient étrangers ou Palestiniens, et de leur fournir un guide du pays. C’est ainsi qu’est né paltrips.ps. Exclusivement sur le web, il est composé de contributions écrites (des textes, des interviews), de vidéos et de sons. La langue principale du site est l’Anglais, mais tu peux trouver des textes qui sont écrits en Arabe, Allemand ou Français et traduits vers l’Anglais.

    Jericho10Jéricho © paltrips.ps

    Comment s’est déroulée l’élaboration de ce guide, et qui a fourni ces contenus ?
    Comme l’initiative est franco-allemande, nous avons vu ce projet comme une coopération entre des jeunes journalistes de France, d’Allemagne et de Palestine. Fin septembre dernier, de jeunes journalistes sont venus dix jours visiter ensemble des villes pour pouvoir en parler, partager leur expérience et leur vécu.

    Comment les avez-vous choisis ?
    On a privilégié des gens qui étaient déjà venus ou qui avaient déjà une bonne connaissance du pays. On a pris de jeunes professionnels, histoire d’être certains d’avoir du contenu de qualité.

    Jericho7
    Jéricho © paltrips.ps

    Est-ce que le faire en Palestine, c’est particulièrement différent de le faire à Paris ?
    Oui, dans le sens où l’image qu’on a de la Palestine à l’étranger n’est pas forcément la bonne. Avec ce projet, on aimerait casser les stéréotypes qui existent autour de la Palestine, les images qu’on montre à travers les médias, la guerre, essentiellement. La guerre existe, mais il y a aussi un autre côté…

    L’image que nous véhiculons n’est pas une fausse image, c’est une image venue de Palestiniens, de notre quotidien, en tant que jeunes qui habitent le pays.

    Qu’est-ce que vous montrez, du coup, concrètement ?
    Qu’en venant en Palestine, comme partout, il y a moyen de s’amuser, de faire la fête, de boire, de sortir de se faire des amis… Je ne dirais pas que la vie est belle et que tout est rose, non, pas du tout. Mais la vie continue, et les endroits continuent à ouvrir, à fleurir, et il y a toujours des initiatives. Vraiment, ça n’arrête pas. Sutout en ce moment.

    jerusalemJérusalem, vieille ville © paltrips.ps

    D’ailleurs, comment expliques-tu cela ?
    Ça vient de la jeunesse, qui a beaucoup voyagé, vécu à l’étranger, qui se dit « On a un superbe pays et le marché est vierge, donc on peut vraiment faire beaucoup de choses ». La scène des start-ups, focalisée sur les technologies et les projets informatiques, est très vivante, par exemple. On en parle aussi sur le site.

    Vous avez choisi des lieux touristiques ? Imaginons Paris, vous nous montrez la Tour Eiffel, ou un lieu un peu plus « alternatif » ?
    On se veut alternatifs. Prenons l’échelle de Bethléem. Le monument le plus connu, c’est l’endroit où le Christ est né, l’Eglise de la Nativité.

    Ce qu’on montre, nous, c’est un petit musée que l’on trouve dans la vieille ville, juste à côté de cette église. Un petit café sympa qui regroupe des jeunes, par exemple.

    Sur le site, il y a une liste des thèmes que l’on a abordés. On parle beaucoup de nourriture, de nightlife, d’architecture, de paysages…


    L’institut français rue Charles de Gaulle (rebaptisée par les habitants « Sharl Degoul Street »), l’unique centre culturel de Gaza ouvert à tous.

    Est-ce qu’on peut détacher ça du conflit ?
    Difficilement, mais là, vraiment, notre objectif n’est pas militant.

    Comment se porte le secteur du tourisme en Palestine ?
    Le tourisme est l’un des secteurs les plus importants pour l’économie, mais il y a beaucoup de restrictions sur les aspects touristiques en Palestine, notamment au niveau des déplacements, et peu de retombées économiques. C’est un secteur qui ne demande qu’à se développer… et c’est là que ça devient compliqué de ne pas parler de politique et d’occupation.

    Et de façon très pratique, un touriste peut venir et se sentir en sécurité, honnêtement ?
    On ne va pas se voiler la face, les problèmes existent. En arrivant à l’aéroport, il y a des choses à dire et à ne pas dire, ça fait partie du « jeu » en quelque sorte. En ce moment, une amie visite la Palestine pour la première fois. Je ne pense pas qu’elle soit très à l’aise quand elle passe le barrage pour aller de l’autre côté, à Jérusalem ou dans les villes israéliennes. Et je comprends : nous-mêmes, nous ne sommes pas à l’aise. Passer la frontière entre Palestine et Israël, ce n’est pas le meilleur moment de la journée… quand cela nous est autorisé.

    naplouseA Naplouse, l’un des derniers ateliers de carrelage de la région © paltrips.ps

    Tu me ferais un top 3 des endroits les plus cools de Palestine ?
    À grande échelle, j’aime beaucoup la ville de Naplouse, qui est un peu plus au Nord de la Palestine. On y mange bien, la vieille ville est très sympa, et quand on la visite, on ne voit qu’elle car elle est située en creux, entre deux monts. On n’aperçoit pas d’horizon, seulement la ville elle-même. Il y a un article là-dessus, d’ailleurs. J’aime aussi beaucoup Ramallah. Et Bethléem, parce que je viens de là-bas ! Mais globalement, il y a beaucoup d’endroits qui nous restent à couvrir. On voudrait développer ce site, ajouter de nouveaux projets.

    Revoir l’interview du Palestinien Mohammed Assaf (Arab Idol), « Rencontre avec la voix d’une génération » :

    > La page Facebook de paltrips.ps

    Société Guide Palestine

    Commentaires
    Laura Aronica
    Rédactrice en chef adjointe
    Voir tous ses billets
    Newsletter