Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! No result

    LONDON FOREVER YOUNG – new ways to have fun for the boomerang generation

    Cereal cafes, Disney karaoke in hot tubs, Christmas theme parks for hipsters… Have Londoners been hit with Peter Pan syndrome?

    A weekday evening like any other on Brick Lane, east London’s trend capital. A new concept cafe opened its doors this morning – the Cereal Killer Cafe. As night falls early over London, we slip with some relief into the boutique. It’s a veritable little sweetshop full of surprise toys, multi-coloured tables and chairs, and round-edged screens taken straight from the 80s.
    Gary Keery welcomes us with a tired smile. He and his brother have been up since 7am serving the already snake-like queue of customers come to grab a quick bowl of childhood and milk. To top it all off, he’s just fended off an attack from a Channel 4 journalist, who accused him of charging extortionate prices in one of London’s poorest areas (£3 for a bowl of cereal). The neighbourhood is certainly not wealthy, but it started changing a long time ago after being hit by the wave of hipsterfication which has been accused of driving up prices and chasing away the locals.

    Cereal Killer Cafe2

    Cereal Killer Cafe1

    In his strong, Northern Irish accent, Gary explains the origins of the Cereal Killer Cafe, where 120 different cereals from around the world are served, accompanied by a choice of 30 types of milk (including almond, hazelnut and soy) and 20 toppings. “My brother and I were in Shoreditch one afternoon, and we were deciding what to eat for lunch. Chinese? Pizza? Burger? The only thing we really wanted was a bowl of cereal. We couldn’t believe you couldn’t get it anywhere! When we were little, cereal was fun, with a little surprise in the box. Today it’s all gone, swept aside to make way for healthier diets. Of course, we’re not asking people to eat cereal every day, but rather to come and try it out every now and then. With that in mind, we’ve tried to create a good atmosphere with boxes of all the old-school cereals. Some of them are more than 20 years old, and there’s still cereal in them! I wouldn’t dare try them though!

    Cereal Killer Cafe3

    Cereal Killer Cafe

    Surrounded by toys, this bearded cereal dealer defends his choice to not grow up:

    “It’s not that we’re refusing to grow up, it’s just that everyone’s a bit nostalgic and wants to reconnect a little with their childhood.”

    We walk a little way down the street filled with double-take dress senses against a street art backdrop to reach an abandoned tube station. Here we find the Hot Tub Cinema, which offers its customers films while in a Jacuzzi.
    Tonight it’s Aladdin, the karaoke version. The concept was dreamt up by two friends from university, Nick Pahl and Asher Charman (respectively the CEO and founder of the company), who started organising film nights with their mates for fun. Today the summer showings often take place on a rooftop, and in the winter in the abandoned tube station. Recently, the two founders have even successfully started exporting the idea to New York and Ibiza. New “pillow cinema” showings were also launched a few weeks ago, with a strict “no pillow, no entry” policy, and enormous beanbags for sprawling out in comfort.

    We get into our hot tub and say hi to our two neighbours. One of them seems nicely tipsy, and knows all the words to the Disney classics, which she sings in the character’s voices. Even though her friend tries to calm her down, we start wondering if they’re part of a report entitled “I tried the Hot Tub Cinema on acid.”

    Hot TubWe’re here to celebrate our favourite films, so we offer the classics like Top Gun, Dirty Dancing and Gremlins. We know these films back to front, and we can have fun, sing, dance and drink”, says Nick Pahl, sporting an elf hat.

    Regression is really part of the experience… says Asher Charman. “It’s good to not be an adult from time to time, to put work and stress to one side…
    I think a part of us has remained in our childhood, but in a good way
    .”

    Xmas HTC six smaller

    Hot Tub Cinema

    Regression does have its limits, however. There’s no hot chocolate to be found here, but there is a mobile bar service for stocking up on beer, wine, champagne and Christmas cocktails without even getting out of the tub. The film plays out amid a genially childish atmosphere, during which we were surprised at our delighted, exaggerated reactions (“naughty Jafar!”). Afterwards, the hot tubs are churned up and filled with bubbles. They inevitably overflow and battle commences, with even the waiters joining in, using their trays to hurl huge quantities of froth over each other.

    The Cereal Cafe and the Hot Tub are not isolated cases. In Hackney, slightly to the north, the first board game cafe has just opened. At Draughts, customers can enjoy hundreds of different board games for just £5… and food is served of course. Many bars have put money on retro gaming, with Sega Mega Drives, Nintendo 64s and other prehistoric consoles available. London is regularly host to open-air role-play games. And it steps up a gear at Christmas. Still in the east of London, Victoria Park is welcoming Winterville for the first time ever. Quickly rechristened Hipsterville, the theme park is open to both adults and children. Even Waterstones has joined with the new trend. A few weeks ago the landmark bookshop invited a few lucky competition winners to a sleepover. The idea was sparked by an incident, when a tourist was accidently locked in the shop overnight, leading to an unexpected barrage of Tweets from people saying they would “sell their souls to spend a night locked in the bookshop.” Waterstones granted their wishes. The Natural History Museum, which has long offered children nights at the museum amongst the dinosaurs, has been pressured into providing the same service for grown-ups. You can even enjoy fairy tales for adults with London Dreamtime, a service providing candlelit stories in abandoned housing estates, forests, cemeteries, and even in people’s sitting rooms.

    londres regressif

    Capture d’écran 2014-12-15 à 11.25.01

    Frank Furedi, a sociologist, wrung his hands at the sight of his infant son glued to the Teletubbies. But then he realised his students at the University of Kent were doing the same thing: “This nostalgia for adolescence, supposedly our golden years, is understandable for people in their 70s. But for those in their 20s and 30s, it’s a clear sign they’re unhappy with their lives as independent adults. This doesn’t mean they’re completely irresponsible, but that they can’t manage their maturity and that they’re fighting back against their responsibilities.

    According to the sociologist, young peoples’ sitting rooms look increasingly like the bedrooms of backward teenagers.

    This is mostly an Anglo-Saxon phenomena, but can be observed to a lesser extent in Germany. “In England there is a culture of middle-class professionals, for whom the borders between masculinity and femininity are blurred. My generation wanted to grow up too fast and become independent before its time.”

    Today, growing up is associated with a dying social life;

    You’re no longer a player. The danger is that people stop looking to the future to create new things, which is quite sad.”

    A quarter of people watching cartoons on television in England are adults. Adults without children”, says Furedi.

    But it’s not all bad: childhood also means freshness and curiosity, and regressive events are reminders of happiness.
    And after all, this search for comfort is lived alongside others and shared, instead of being nurtured alone.

    Society London Regression

    Comments
    Amandine Jean
    Journalist in London
    All his posts

Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! Aucun résultat

    LONDON FOREVER YOUNG – une nouvelle façon de s’amuser pour tous les Tanguy

    Bar à céréales, karaoké Disney dans des jacuzzi, parc de Noël pour hipsters… Les Londoniens seraient-ils atteints du syndrome Peter Pan?

    Un soir de semaine comme les autres dans Brick Lane, l’artère trendy de l’Est londonien. Un nouveau café concept a ouvert ses portes ce matin, le Cereal Killer Cafe. La nuit tombe tôt sur Londres et l’on s’engouffre, non sans soulagement, dans la boutique, véritable petite bonbonnière peuplée de jouets surprises, de tables et chaises en formica multicolores et d’écrans aux angles arrondis tout droit sortis des années 80.
    Gary Keery nous accueille avec un sourire fatigué. Depuis ce matin 7h et déjà la queue à l’entrée, lui et son frère jumeau ont vu défiler des clients venus glaner quelques miettes d’innocence au fond d’un bol de lait. Pour couronner le tout, il vient de subir les attaques d’un journaliste de Channel 4 qui l’accuse de pratiquer des prix prohibitifs (£3 le bol de céréales) dans un quartier certes pauvre… mais qui a muté il y a bien longtemps déjà, pris d’assaut par les hipsters, accusés de tous les maux, en particulier de faire flamber les prix et de chasser les locaux.

    Cereal Killer Cafe2

    Cereal Killer Cafe1

    Avec un fort accent irlandais, Gary explique l’origine du Cereal Killer Cafe où sont servies 120 sortes de céréales du monde entier accompagnées de trente sortes de lait (dont amande, noisette, soja…) et de vingt toppings : « On était sur Shoreditch avec mon frère un après-midi et on se demandait quoi manger à midi : chinois ? Pizza ? Burger ? Tout ce dont on avait envie, c’était d’un bol de céréales. On n’en revenait pas que l’on ne puisse en commander nulle part. Quand on était petits, les céréales c’était fun, avec une surprise dedans. Aujourd’hui ça n’existe plus, tout a été balayé par les questions de diététique. Evidemment, on ne demande pas aux gens de manger des céréales tous les jours mais plutôt d’en faire l’expérience, une fois de temps en temps. On a donc essayé de créer une bonne atmosphère avec les boîtes de toutes ces anciennes céréales. Certaines boîtes ont vingt ans et toujours des céréales dedans… mais je ne me risquerais pas à les goûter ! »

    Cereal Killer Cafe3

    Cereal Killer Cafe

    Au milieu de tous ces jouets, le dealer de céréales à barbe se défend de refuser de grandir :

    « Ce n’est pas qu’on ne grandit pas, c’est que tout le monde est un peu nostalgique et a envie de se reconnecter un peu à l’enfance. »

    On descend un peu la rue peuplée de looks improbables sur fond de street art pour rejoindre une station de métro désaffectée. Ici se tient le Hot Tub Cinema, qui propose des projections de films dans des jacuzzi.
    Ce soir, c’est Aladin, en version karaoké. Le concept vient de deux amis de fac, Nick Palh et Asher Charman (respectivement directeur et fondateur de la compagnie), qui ont commencé à organiser des séances avec leurs amis pour s’amuser… aujourd’hui, les séances se tiennent régulièrement en été sur un toit, en hiver dans cette station de métro désaffectée. Les deux fondateurs ont même commencé à exporter avec succès le concept il y a peu à New York et à Ibiza. De nouvelles séances « pillow cinema » ont aussi été lancées il y a quelques semaines avec une politique « pas d’oreiller pas d’entrée » et des gros poufs pour se vautrer confortablement.

    On rejoint notre jacuzzi, salue nos deux voisines dont l’une semble passablement éméchée et connaît toutes les paroles du classique de Disney qu’elle anticipe, refaisant tour à tour toutes les voix. Son amie a beau essayer de la contenir, on commence à se demander si elles ne sont pas en plein reportage « J’ai testé le Hot Tub Cinema sous acide ».

    Hot Tub

    « On est là pour célébrer nos films favoris donc on propose des classiques, Top Gun, Dirty Dance, Gremlins… Ces films qu’on connaît par cœur, sur lesquels on peut s’amuser, chanter, danser, boire… » résume Nick Pahl, un bonnet de lutin sur la tête.

    « La régression fait vraiment partie de l’expérience… » poursuit Asher Charman. « C’est bon de ne pas avoir à être un adulte de temps en temps, de laisser de côté le travail le stress…
    Je pense qu’on est restés des enfants quelque part, mais dans un sens positif. »

    Xmas HTC six smaller

    Hot Tub Cinema

    La régression a ses limites ; ici, point de chocolat chaud mais bien un service bar mobile pour se réapprovisionner en bière, vin, champagne ou cocktails de Noël sans sortir de son bain. Une fois le film diffusé dans une ambiance bon enfant, durant lequel on s’est surpris à exagérer les réactions avec un certain plaisir («Méchant, Jafar, méchant !»), les jacuzzi sont secoués de remous et de mousse qui inévitablement débordent, au propre comme au figuré, en bataille où même les serveurs sont de la partie, usant de leurs plateaux pour distribuer des plâtrées de blanc manteau à tour de bras.

    Le Cereal Cafe et le Hot Tub ne sont pas des cas isolés. À Hackney, un poil plus au nord, vient de s’ouvrir le premier board game cafe, Draughts, où l’on peut explorer des centaines de jeux de société de tous horizons à volonté pour £5… et bien sûr se restaurer. De nombreux bars ont misé sur le retro gaming avec des Sega Mega Drive, Nintendo 64 et autres machines préhistoriques à disposition. Londres est régulièrement prise d’assaut par des jeux de rôles à ciel ouvert. Et cela ne va pas en s’arrangeant avec Noël. Victoria Park, toujours dans l’Est, accueille pour la première fois Winterville, bien vite renommé Hipsterville, véritable parc d’attraction aussi bien pour adultes que pour enfants. Même Waterstones, incontournable librairie, a offert il y a quelques semaines un sleepover à quelques chanceux lecteurs à l’issue d’un concours. L’idée est partie d’un incident : un touriste s’est retrouvé coincé dans le magasin après la fermeture et a provoqué une chaîne inattendue de réactions sur Twitter de gens qui se «damnerait pour passer la nuit enfermé dans la librairie». Waterstone a exaucé leur vœu. Le Natural History Museum, qui proposait depuis longtemps des nuits au musée destinées aux enfants au milieu des dinosaures, a dû proposer une version pour adultes. On peut même profiter de contes pour adultes avec London Dreamtime, à la lueur de la bougie, dans des lotissements désaffectés, des forêts, des cimetières… ou même dans le salon des particuliers.

    londres regressif

    Capture d’écran 2014-12-15 à 11.25.01

    Frank Furedi, sociologue, se désespérait de voir son tout jeune fils scotché aux Teletubbies avant de s’apercevoir que ses étudiants, à l’université de Kent, faisaient de même : «Cette nostalgie de l’adolescence, supposément nos meilleures années, est compréhensible pour des personnes de 70 ans, mais pour les 20-30 ans, cela est un signe fort qu’ils ne sont pas à l’aise avec la vie en tant qu’adultes indépendants. Ça ne veut pas dire qu’ils sont complètement irresponsables, mais qu’ils ne gèrent pas la maturité et qu’ils réagissent contre les responsabilités.»

    Pour le sociologue, les salons des jeunes adultes ressemblent de plus en plus à des chambres d’ados attardés.

    Le phénomène serait surtout anglo-saxon, et apparaîtrait dans une moindre mesure en Allemagne. «Il y a ici une culture de professionnels de la classe moyenne dans laquelle les frontières entre masculinité et féminité ne sont pas claires. Ma génération voulait grandir trop vite et gagner son indépendance avant l’âge.

    Aujourd’hui, grandir est associé à une mort sociale ;

    vous n’êtes plus un joueur. Le danger c’est de ne plus se projeter pour créer de nouvelles choses, c’est un peu triste.»

    Un quart du public qui regarde les chaînes de dessins-animés en Angleterre sont des adultes… sans enfants, rappelle le spécialiste.

    Il y a quand même des raisons de se réjouir : l’enfance c’est aussi la fraîcheur et la curiosité et les événements régressifs sont empreints de bonne humeur.
    Et cette recherche de confort est au moins vécue de façon commune et partagée au lieu d’être pratiquée en solitaire.

     

    Société Londres Regression

    Commentaires
    Amandine Jean
    Journaliste musique et société à Londres
    Voir tous ses billets
    Newsletter