Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! No result

    WHO ARE YOU…? Ateph Elidja

    The poet Gérard de Nerval would not have disowned him. Ateph Elidja is the Bromance label’s very own “Black Sun of Melancholy”. He has released three tracks since joining the label and is already flying high, with influential American site Pigeons and Planes recently naming him as one of the ten best French producers of 2014. Photographer Gabrielle Malewski and I went to meet him

    Who is Ateph Elidja?
    I am a composer and a producer. I don’t object to being called a DJ, because that’s how I earn a living these days – I mix in clubs and at gigs and do live sets with my own music. But at root, I’m more of a studio guy than a DJ. I see myself as being a little like a craftsman – someone who controls machines with my hands.

    3

    Have you always made music?
    I started with dance. From the age of 8 or 9, I did modern jazz and New School. Then I gave it all up at 18. When I was 11, my brother gave me a beatbox. He mixed a little himself, but he was more into vinyls. He took me to a techno festival, and I saw all the buttons flashing and lighting up and said to myself, “that’s what I want to do” (he laughs). I make quite experimental music, which can vary between techno and hip hop. There’s no real name for it at the moment.

    Where does this interest in hip hop come from?
    I started to listen to hip hop because of my brothers. It really was because of them. I was more into Nirvana, The Chemical Brothers and Daft Punk. I was lucky enough to grow up listening to Gainsbourg and Björk. My father used to play me Moroccan songs. You know, the kind of Berber music where you can hear a deep sadness in their voice? On my first machines, I started out making electronic music, but then I moved into hip hop, simply because that was what I was listening to every day.

    What brought you back to techno?
    I’ve always made techno music alongside the hip hop, but what really got me back into it was discovering lots of British labels, Berlin labels like BPitch Control, and French ones like Ed Banger. I thought there was something really hip hop about them. I thought, why not? Why not use techno sounds, big or small, and make hip hop out of them? The big sounds came in 2007 with artists such as SebastiAn. I came to Paris in 2007 to make music, but I was a little immature. I didn’t know where I wanted to go, artistically speaking. I was making experimental sounds. People would say to me, “Mate, you’re crazy. No one is going to want to listen to this stuff”.

    unnamed-9

    Since then, Bromance has come along. How did you come to work with the label?
    It was a really long road. First of all, I released a self-produced album under the name Rhaft, which used lots of samples. My label was called ArtJacking. Then I went to New York, twice. That gave me some perspective about what was going on musically in France. I came across Bromance n°1 and I was blown away. I really identified with the darkness of it. I contacted Louis (Brodinski, Ed.) by email and sent him some sounds every day for a month. After a while, it worked. That was exactly a year ago.

    What has changed since then?
    Lots of things… I’ve played a fair few shared dates with the guys from the label. Artistically, I’ve evolved quite a bit working alongside Mike (Gesaffelstein), the Club Cheval guys and Louis. I’m finishing my EP, which is due out in March 2015. More than anything, I want to make an EP that surprises people, something that is in keeping with what I do on stage.

    Pigeons & Planes has just named you as one of the most talented producers of 2014. What do you think of that?
    I wasn’t expecting it and I’m really happy to be part of the list. I’m happy that it’s come from a US magazine. And above all I’m happy that three other members of the Bromance label are in there with me.

    Ateph’s latest track, 8TRAUMA, can be found on Homieland, the Bromance label’s first compilation.
    Photos © Gabrielle Malewski

    Music Bromance Qui es-tu ?

    Comments
    Laura Aronica
    Journalist
    All his posts

Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! Aucun résultat

    QUI ES-TU… Ateph Elidja

    Gérard de Nerval ne l'aurait pas renié - Ateph Elidja est le "soleil noir" du label Bromance. En trois morceaux depuis son entrée sur le label, il est déjà en orbite : le site prescripteur américain Pigeons and Planes vient de le pointer comme l'un des dix meilleurs producteurs français de 2014. Rencontre, accompagnée de la photographe Gabrielle Malewski.

    Qui est Ateph Elidja ?
    Je suis un compositeur-producteur. Je ne rejette pas l’étiquette de DJ, parce que c’est mon gagne-pain aujourd’hui, je mixe en club, en concert et je fais du live avec ma propre musique. Mais au départ, je suis plus un mec du studio qu’un DJ. Je me considère un petit peu comme un artisan, quelqu’un qui contrôle les machines.

    3

    Tu as toujours fait de la musique ?
    J’ai commencé par la danse. À 8-9 ans, je faisais du modern jazz et du new style, puis j’ai arrêté tout ça à l’âge de 18 ans. Pendant ce temps, à l’âge de 11 ans, mon frère m’a offert une boîte à rythmes. Il mixait un peu lui, mais il était plus dans les vinyles. Il m’a amené dans un festival techno. Là-bas, j’ai vu plein de petits boutons qui s’allumaient… Je me suis dit : « ça, c’est fait pour moi » (rires). Je fais de la musique assez expérimentale qui peut varier entre la techno et le hip hop. Aujourd’hui, ça n’a pas vraiment de nom.

    Ça vient d’où, cet intérêt pour le hip hop ?
    J’ai commencé à écouter du hip hop à cause de mes frères. Je dis bien « à cause ». Moi j’étais plutôt Nirvana, Chemical Brothers, Daft Punk… J’ai été heureusement bercé par Gainsbourg. Björk aussi. Mon père me faisait écouter des chansons marocaines. Tu sais ce genre de musique berbère où tu entends dans leur voix leur tristesse profonde. Sur mes premières machines, j’ai commencé à faire de la musique électronique, mais par la suite j’ai fait du hip hop, simplement parce que c’est ce que j’écoutais tous les jours.

    Comment es-tu revenu à la techno ?
    J’ai toujours fait des sons techno en parallèle, mais c’est vraiment revenu avec la découverte de pas mal de labels anglais, berlinois comme BPitch Control, et français comme Ed Banger. Je trouvais qu’ils avaient un truc ultra hip hop. Je me suis dit, pourquoi pas le faire, utiliser ces sonorités de la techno, très minimales ou maximales, et en faire du son hip hop ? La maximale c’est ce qui est arrivé en 2007 avec des artistes comme SebastiAn. Je suis venu à Paris en 2007 pour faire de la musique, mais j’étais un peu immature. Je ne savais pas où je voulais aller artistiquement. Je faisais des sons expérimentaux, on me disait « mec t’es fou c’est des sons que personne peut écouter ».

    unnamed-9

    Depuis, il y a eu Bromance. Comment s’est passée ta rencontre avec le label ?
    Il y a eu du chemin, énormément. J’ai d’abord sorti un album en autoprod’, au nom de Rhaft, très samplé. Mon label s’appelait ArtJacking.  Puis je suis parti à New York, deux fois. J’ai pris du recul sur ce qui se passait en France musicalement, et je suis tombé sur le Bromance n°1… et là j’ai pris une claque. Je me suis reconnu dans l’image très sombre. J’ai contacté Louis (Brodinski, NDLR) par mail, je lui ai envoyé des sons tous les jours pendant un mois, et au bout d’un moment ça a marché. Ça va faire un an tout pile.

    Qu’est-ce qui a changé depuis ?
    Beaucoup de choses… J’ai pas mal partagé de dates avec les mecs du label. Artistiquement, j’ai pas mal évolué à côtoyer Mike (Gesaffelstein), les mecs du Club Cheval et Louis. Je termine mon EP, qui est prévu pour mars 2015. Je veux arriver avec un projet qui va plus surprendre qu’autre chose, qui va être dans la lignée de ce que je joue sur scène.

    Pigeons & Planes vient de te nommer comme l’un des producteurs les plus doués de 2014. Verdict ?
    Je ne m’y attendais pas, je suis très content de faire partie de ce classement. Je suis content que ça vienne d’un mag US. Et surtout, je suis heureux de partager ça avec trois membres du label Bromance.

    Le dernier morceau d’Ateph, 8TRAUMA, est à retrouver sur Homieland, la première compilation du label Bromance.
    Photos © Gabrielle Malewski

    Musique Bromance Qui es-tu ?

    Commentaires
    Laura Aronica
    Rédactrice en chef adjointe
    Voir tous ses billets
    Newsletter