Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! No result

    Kim Kardashian in Armenia: is she finally doing something worthwhile?

    For Armenia, which is still waiting for Turkey to recognise the genocide of Armenian people in 1915, Kim Kardashian’s visit was a godsend.

    “Kim Kardashian brought my attention to the Armenian genocide. I’d never heard about it.” “The attention the family has brought to Armenia is so influential (sic). Thank you for educating me #Armenia #ArmenianGenocide.” These are just a few examples of kindly words the Kardashian sisters received on Twitter during their visit to Armenia, which ended on Monday 13 April.

     

    On 9 April, reality TV stars Kim Kardashian and sister Khloe, accompanied by Kim’s husband, Kanye West, and their daughter, North, travelled to Armenia, The family is originally from Armenia, but moved to the USA two years before the genocide of 1915 that saw the deaths of hundreds of thousands of people (between 200,000 and ten times as many, according to historians). No sooner had they arrived, they were meeting people, taking part in commemorations and meeting the Prime Minister… Presented as “a return to her roots” this trip was more like a state visit. Away from the press, Kim Kardashian personally documented her visit with tweets and photos which were more or less linked to the current affairs in her ancestors’ country:

     

    Kim Kardashian focused the attention of the world (at least, the part of the world that knows she exists) on Armenia, in part thanks to the performance of her husband Kanye West. The singer played a free show on Sunday 12 April, which finished with Kanye jumping into a lake:

    For a few hours, “Armenia” became the most talked-about word on the microblogging site on a global level, just behind “KUWTK”, the acronym for “Keeping Up With The Kardashians” (a reality TV show filming the Kardashian family, now into its tenth season). 

    “It’s incredible PR for us”

    “Kim Kardashian came to pay tribute to the victims, and she has millions of followers” said Hranush Hakobyan Armenian Minister for the Diaspora when interviewed by the Guardian. “If she writes or says anything it is incredible PR for us. Most people don’t even know where Armenia is.”

    I didn’t know that Kim K was Armenian. Armenia’s in Asia isn’t it?” – Triley, Kansas (USA).

    Officially, Kim Kardashian – who has 29.8 million followers on Instagram and 31 million on Twitter – didn’t make the trip just for the 100-year memorial. But the reality TV star has emphasised her commitment to the memory of her country for years (according to The Independent, in 2012 she already stated, “I have been really passionate about getting people to acknowledge the Armenian genocide”).

    The Kardashian’s trip attracted the usual criticisms, but the overall review of the visit has been positive. And certainly less disastrous than Kim’s 2012 visit to Bahrain, a notoriously repressive kingdom, to promote a milkshake brand. “Armenia has never been discussed in the mainstream media like this before” says historian Vahram Ter-Matevosyan, interviewed by the Guardian:

    “I am sure Turkey is having nightmares about it. Some there said that Kim Kardashian was the latest weapon the Armenians are using. Once she leaves, she will be missed.”

    All that’s left if to judge the effectiveness of the Kardashian’s version of “hashtag diplomacy”, and hope that the interest she has sparked in her native country over the last few days will survive after her visit, just for a while.

    Society Kim Kardashian Armenia

    Comments
    Laura Aronica
    Journalist
    All his posts

Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! Aucun résultat

    Kim Kardashian en Arménie : aurait-elle enfin servi à quelque chose ?

    Pour l'Arménie, qui attend toujours que la Turquie reconnaisse le génocide de 1915 sur sa population, la visite de Kim Kardashian a été une aubaine. 

    « Kim Kardashian a attiré mon attention sur le génocide arménien, dont je n’avais jamais entendu parler ». « L’attention que la famille a amenée sur l’Arménie est tellement influente (sic). Merci de m’avoir éduqué #Arménie #GénocideArménien ». Voici quelques exemples de mots doux qu’ont reçus les soeurs Kardashian, sur Twitter, pendant leur visite en Arménie, achevée lundi 13 avril.

     

    Le 9 avril, les stars de téléréalité Kim Kardashian et sa soeur Khloe, accompagnées du mari de Kim, Kanye West et de leur fille North, se sont rendues en Arménie, le pays d’origine de leur famille – émigrée aux États-Unis deux ans avant le génocide de 1915, qui a fait plusieurs centaines de milliers de morts (entre 200 000 et dix fois plus, selon les historiens). Bain de foule à l’arrivée, participation aux commémorations, rendez-vous avez le premier ministre… Présenté comme un « retour aux sources », ce voyage avait surtout des airs de visite d’État. Loin de la presse, Kim Kardashian a documenté elle-même sa visite à coup de tweets et de photos – plus ou moins liés à l’actualité du pays de ses ancêtres :

     

    Kim Kardashian a cristallisé l’attention de la planète (du moins, de la partie de la planète consciente de son existence) sur l’Arménie, notamment grâce à la performance remarquée de son mari Kanye West lors d’un concert gratuit dimanche 12 avril, achevé en plongeon géant dans un lac :

    Pendant quelques heures, le mot « Arménie » est devenu l’un des plus discutés sur la plate-forme de microblogging, au niveau mondial, juste avant « KUWTK », acronyme de « Keeping Up With The Kardashians » (une télé-réalité mettant en scène la famille Kardashian, qui en est à sa 10e saison). 

    « C’est une incroyable attachée de presse pour nous »

    “Kim Kardashian, venue en hommage aux victimes, a des millions de followers”  se réjouit le ministre arménien de la diaspora Hranush Hakobyan, interrogé par le Guardian. “C’est une incroyable attachée de presse pour nous. La plupart des gens ne savent même pas où est l’Arménie.”

    « Je ne savais pas que Kim K était arménienne. L’Arménie c’est en Asie n’est-ce pas ? » – Triley, Kansas (USA).

    Officiellement, Kim Kardashian – 29,8 millions d’abonnés sur Instagram et 31 millions sur Twitter – n’est pas venue spécialement à l’occasion du centenaire du génocide. Mais la star de télé-réalité répète depuis longtemps son engagement pour la mémoire de son pays (d’après The Independent, elle affirmait déjà, en 2012, « se battre avec passion pour que les gens reconnaissent le génocide arménien »).

    La venue de la famille Kardashian s’est attirée son lot de critiques habituelles, mais le bilan global de cette visite est positif. Bien moins désastreux en tout cas que celle que Kim Kardashian avait faite en 2012 au Bahreïn, ce royaume du Golfe notoirement répressif, pour promouvoir une marque de milkshakes. « On n’a jamais autant parlé de l’Arménie dans les médias » rappelle l’historien Vahram Ter-Matevosyan, interrogé par le Guardian :

    “Je suis sûr que la Turquie en fait des cauchemars. Là-bas, certains disent que Kim Kardashian est la dernière arme utilisée par les Arméniens. Elle va nous manquer.”

    Reste à observer, dès maintenant, l’efficacité de cette « diplomatie du hashtag » version Kardashian – et à espérer que l’intérêt qu’elle a su susciter ces derniers jours envers son pays d’origine puisse survivre, ne serait-ce qu’un peu plus longtemps, à sa visite.

    Société Arménie Kim Kardashian

    Commentaires
    Laura Aronica
    Rédactrice en chef adjointe
    Voir tous ses billets
    Newsletter