Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! No result

    CLIQUE WEAR: the bucket hat

    The bucket hat is back. Over the last two seasons, those who know what’s what in fashion cannot have failed to notice its resurgence. But it never really went away. It was just lying dormant. Icons never die.

    Wikipedia tells us that the Bucket Hat was born in the early 20th century, probably in Ireland and most likely in an area where it regularly rained cats and dogs.

    It then carved out a niche for itself as the headwear of choice for fly-fishermen, hunters, mountain climbers and other fans of the great outdoors. Its first “swag” use came when the wide-eyed girls of Carnaby Street donned a slightly more bell-shaped version to protect themselves from the rain. But the bucket hat nevertheless remained the kind of hat your dad might wear. It was not yet the accessory everyone wanted. It was missing a poster boy.

    The wind changed in the mid-1980s, when Reni from the Stone Roses brought it back into vogue. He was soon followed by Britain’s new generation of e-popping youngsters. Baggy trousers, checked shirt or football shirt, military parka and bucket hat was the quintessential combo, often bearing the labels of the leading sportswear brands of the period, such as Fila, Tacchini, Ellesse and Slazenger.

    stone-roses-388019420

    This was a time when groups of lads with guitars intermingled with those with TR-808s, all with an innate sense of style, whose influence continued to be felt for many years to come.

    In 1996, the leading figures of the Britpop movement, Oasis and company, were not averse to a bucket hat or two.

    liam-gallagher-bucket-hat

    Still in the mid-80s, on the other side of the pond this time, a 16-year-old boy who could not live without his radio or his bucket hat became one of the first artists signed by Def Jam, a signing which proved a masterstroke. Overnight, LL Cool J found himself catapulted to stratospheric fame and, with him, so did the bucket hat by Kangol, a British brand previously known only in retirement homes.

    LL 1

    With LL as its driving force, the entire hip hop world adopted the hat. Kangol was the brand of choice for RUN DMC, Eric B & Rakim, Slick Rick and millions of anonymous members of the public, but it was an unbranded version that would come to be the trademark of Erick and Parrish from EPMD.

    EPMD

    In France, however, be it among baggy-trouser wearers or hip hop enthusiasts, the bucket hat never really caught on. In the 1980s, it was impossible to find Kangol in Paris, and the few guys who did wear it had better have a reputation or know how to handle themselves, or they might lose it on their way down a metro corridor.

    solo joey

    The baggy-pants-and-bucket-hat combo looked too much like camping gear, and we were just too far from Manchester for the look to capture kids’ imagination.

    Come the 1990s, baggy pants fizzled out. The pioneering hip hop generation gave way to the next, but the bucket hat’s success was built on firmer foundations, and it began to be spotted once again on the heads of trendsetting young gentlemen. In the early 2000s, Nas, Method, Raekwon and others wore the bucket hat with pride. Polo Ralph Lauren, Tommy Hilfiger, military models… All the experts thought the bucket hat was here to stay.

    Nas

    Method

    Alas, France was once more lagging behind. Fortunately, the Arsenik brothers, who boasted one of the best French rap looks of all time, gave the bucket hat pride of place, donning the Lacoste model, whose qualities need no introduction.

    ob_6d4c2f_arsenikcover-jpg2

    And then, fashion being the rollercoaster that it is, the bucket hat fell from grace a little. It was no longer centre-stage, but it continued to enjoy a large and devoted following.

    As the third millennium entered its second decade, a new school or rappers brought up on fashion and untrammelled by ghetto dress codes reappropriated the bucket hat, thanks to Schoolboy Q, Earl Sweatshirt and Kid Cudi, among others.

    schoolboy-q-featuring-kendrick-lamar-collard-greens-2-0

    And for once, France latched on to the trend immediately. Gradur, a man rarely seen without his bucket hat, dedicated a track to it, and stylish Gen Y-ers now pair it with their Asics Gel Lyte III.

    gradur-en-mode-traction-dans-sheguey-10-video-649

    The bucket hat never really dies, just waxes and wanes.
    And in my view, it owes its indomitability to its utilitarian origins. As long as there are old men who go fishing, there will always be young upstarts to steal their style.

    Credit: Brick Stowell

    Fashion Bucket hat Clique Wear

    Comments
    Julien Gangnet
    Editorial writer
    All his posts

Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! Aucun résultat

    CLIQUE WEAR : le bob

    Le bob est back depuis deux saisons, les vrais gars à la redresse n’auront pas manqué de le remarquer. Mais il n’était pas vraiment parti, il était seulement en sommeil, les icônes ne meurent jamais.

    Wikipedia nous apprend que le Bucket Hat (le « bob » en VO) serait né au début du 20siècle probablement en Irlande et certainement dans un coin où il devait pleuvoir des cordes.

    Il fait ensuite son petit bonhomme de chemin en coiffant tout ce que le monde libre compte de pêcheurs à la mouche, chasseurs, alpinistes et autres adeptes du plein air. On le retrouve, modifié en forme cloche pour sa première utilisation swagg, là il protège de la pluie les jeunes filles aux grands yeux de Carnaby Street. Malgré cela, le bob reste le chapeau à papa, ce n’est pas encore l’accessoire pour serrer de la rate, il lui manque tout simplement un poster boy à la hauteur.

    Le vent tourne au milieu des 80’, quand Reni des Stones Roses le remet au goût du jour, bientôt suivi par tous les bouffeurs d’ecstasy d’Angleterre, c’est la vibe baggy, chemise à carreaux ou maillot de foot, parka militaire et bucket hat souvent issu des marques sportswear phares de l’époque : Fila, Tacchini, Ellesse ou Slazenger.

    stone-roses-388019420

    L’époque voit s’entrelacer groupes de lads à guitares ou à TR-808, tous avec un sens inné de la dégaine, dont l’influence se fait sentir encore longtemps après.

    En 1996 les figures de la pop UK, Oasis et consort, ne sont pas les derniers pour porter des bob.

    liam-gallagher-bucket-hat

    Toujours au milieu des 80’, cette fois-ci de l’autre côté de l’Atlantique, un mec de 16 ans qui ne peut pas vivre sans sa radio ni son bob est une des premières signatures de Def Jam et c’est un coup de maitre, du jour au lendemain LL Cool J se retrouve sur orbite et avec lui le bob Kangol, marque anglaise connue jusque-là uniquement dans les maisons de retraite.

    LL 1

    Avec LL pour locomotive, tout le hip hop adopte ce couvre-chef. Kangol, principalement pour RUN DMC, Eric B & Rakim, Slick Rick et des millions d’anonymes, mais aussi du bob sans marque qui devient la signature Eric and Parish de EPMD.

    EPMD

    Cependant, en France, baggy ou hip hop, l’engouement autour du bob est à la traine et la mayonnaise ne prend pas plus que ça. Il faut dire que dans les années 80, le Kangol est introuvable à Paris et que les rares mecs qui en portent ont plutôt intérêt à avoir une réputation et/ou à pouvoir l’assurer physiquement au risque de devoir le céder au détour d’un couloir de métro.

    solo joey

    Le bob baggy, lui, fait trop camping et nous sommes vraiment trop loin de Manchester pour faire rêver les kids.

    Arrive les 90’ le baggy fait long feu, la génération de pionnier hip hop laisse sa place, mais le bob est posé sur des bases solides, et on le retrouve sur la tête de tous les gars à la page. Début des années 2000, Nas, Method, Raekwon et les autres portent le bob avec fierté, Polo Ralph Lauren et Tommy Hilfiger ou modèle militaire, tous les experts pensent le bob installé pour toujours.

    Nas

    Method

    Las, la France est toujours à la traine, heureusement les deux frangins d’Arsenik, dépositaires d’une des meilleures dégaines rap fr. de tous les temps, mettent le bob à l’honneur avec le modèle Lacoste dont la qualité n’est plus à vanter.

    ob_6d4c2f_arsenikcover-jpg2

    Et puis, les montagnes russes stylistiques étant ce qu’elles sont, le bob redescend d’un cran, on ne le voit plus vraiment à la une mais il reste adoré par un grand nombre de dévots.

    Le second millénaire qui bascule dans sa première dizaine voit une nouvelle école de rappeurs biberonnés à la mode et affranchis des codes vestimentaires ghetto se réapproprier le bob, merci à Schoolboy Q, Earl Sweatshirt, Kid Cudi entre autres.

    schoolboy-q-featuring-kendrick-lamar-collard-greens-2-0

    Et pour une fois la France choppe la perche au passage, Gradur l’homme au bob lui consacre un morceau et les Y qui ont du style assortissent le leur avec leurs Asics gel lyte III.

    gradur-en-mode-traction-dans-sheguey-10-video-649

    Le bob ne meurt jamais vraiment, il connaît simplement des éclipses.
    Et selon moi, il doit son insubmersibilité à son origine utilitaire, tant qu’il y aura un retraité pour aller à la pêche, il y aura un petit malin pour lui pécho son style.

    Crédit photo : Brick Stowell

    Mode Bob Clique Wear

    Commentaires
    Julien Gangnet
    Auteur - Connoisseur - Concepteur rédacteur
    Voir tous ses billets
    Newsletter