Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! No result

    CLIQUE WEAR: Whiter than white, the power of new sneakers

    If The King returned to Earth today, he wouldn’t sing “Don’t you step on my blue suede shoes”, but “Don’t you step on my new, white trainers”. (Because yeah, Elvis would be a hard-core hip hop fan).

    White trainers are like crack, obsession followed by a tumbling descent:
    You get them, use them, then look for a new pair to chase the emotions of the first hit. And if you’re like me, you know a new pair will never be the last because they all carry the same macabre fate. Take my advice, kids. Don’t start, and stay in school.

    So yeah, maybe I’m laying it on a bit thick. New doesn’t always mean best, and in some cases beaten up leather looks like a million dollars, but it’s my main premise. Of course there are a few exceptions, but we’ll talk about those together.

    We must first separate white leather trainers from white canvas trainers, as the latter are more resistant. You should wear them if you like sporting well-scuffed sneakers. At the end of their lives, Vans, Converse and Spring Court shoes have lost much of their original charm. And the Ramones will agree with me (at least the surviving members will). I would like to digress a little, if you don’t mind: white canvas (denim and sneakers) should preferably be worn a little dirty – it’s more chic. In the summer, your white-on-white 501 will always look better after 48 hours. Before that, it smacks of cheap hairdresser.

    Ramones

    But let’s get back to business. One of the stumbling blocks in the neurotic obsession with white leather, of which I am a victim, is the tempo, the good times. Open a box of flat sneakers, let’s say a pair of Air Force Ones for the girls and a Nike Tennis Classics for the guys. Feel the emotion rise in you, the feel of the tissue paper, the smell, all that jazz. (I gave you the lowdown two weeks ago).

    You step out onto the street, looking fine. Your jeans are lightly colouring the inside of the fresh new tongue, you’re in the honeymoon period, the world is your oyster. But be careful, you’re walking on eggshells. You stare daggers at anyone who dares lightly brush by your trainers, and you wash them every morning with that special sponge you keep under the sink before leaving home. As time goes on the first signs of irrevocable wear-and-tear begin to show. You don’t look at them in the same way as before. Daily life, in its ugly nakedness, ruins everything. This is the sharp descent, with its stomach aches and panic attacks that can’t be shared with anyone. So far, this is nothing new. You just need to buy a new pair and you’re off on the rollercoaster ride again. But don’t be fooled: it’s like changing cabins on the Titanic.

    This is the moment the notion of tempo comes into play. After the dizziness of novelty and the agonies of falling out of love lies a grey area, difficult to define and accompanied by little bragging. But if you can muster the psychological strength needed to weather this period, and keep wearing your sneakers like and old dog you just can’t bring yourself to put down, you will be rewarded for your efforts.

    One morning, you’ll discover they’re at the perfect, worn-out stage and ready to enter their second childhood. Why that day? Why not the day before? How long does it take to happen? No one knows, and these questions make up the meaning of life everyone must discover in their own time, by following their own path.
    Giving you my own opinion will only give you cheap relief, but will in no way guide you towards the path of truth. Instead, I’m trying to give you the keys to discover the essence of your true self. As it is cited in the Mishneh Torah:

    “Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day; teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.”

    fat-joe-air-jordan-xi-11-gamma-blue-jamie-foxx-adidas-originals-stan-smith Kanye+West+Kanye+West+Arriving+Hotel+NYC+h_F0SfFDCHVl Run-D.M-680x497

    Fashion Baskets Clique Wear

    Comments
    Julien Gangnet
    Editorial writer
    All his posts

Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! Aucun résultat

    CLIQUE WEAR : Blanc de blanc, le pouvoir de la basket neuve

    Si le King se repointait sur Terre aujourd’hui, il ne chanterait pas "Stay off of my blue suede shoes" mais "Interdiction de marcher sur mes baskets blanches". (Parce qu’il parlerait français et qu’il kifferait le Hip Hop.)

    La basket blanche c’est comme le crack, une obsession suivie d’une descente permanente :
    L’acquérir, la défraîchir et en chercher une nouvelle paire pour reproduire l’émotion de la flétrissure. Et si vous êtes comme moi, vous savez qu’une nouvelle paire ne sera jamais la dernière, car elle porte en elle son funeste destin. Un conseil les gamins, ne commencez jamais et restez à l’école le plus longtemps possible.

    Bon j’en rajoute un poil, le neuf n’est pas toujours le meilleur et dans certains cas, un cuir bien ravagé peut avoir de la gueule, mais c’est mon postulat de base. Après il y a des cas particuliers que nous allons découvrir ensemble.

    Tout d’abord, il convient de séparer les baskets blanches en cuir et celles en toile, les secondes supportant bien mieux l’usure, elles sont à favoriser si vous aimer porter des sneakers bien défoncées. Le charme d’une Vans, d’une Converse ou d’une Springcourt en fin de vie n’est plus à vanter. Et ce n’est pas les Ramones qui me contrediront (enfin les survivants). Je vais même me permettre une digression, la toile blanche (jean et sneakers) se porte de préférence un peu crade, c’est plus chic. L’été, votre 501 white on white est toujours plus beau après 48h, avant ça fait coiffeur low-cost.

    Ramones

    Mais revenons dans le sujet. Une des pierres d’achoppement de la névrose obsessionnelle du cuir blanc, dont je suis récipiendaire, c’est le tempo, le bon moment. Ouvrez une boîte de sneakers basses, au hasard une Air Force One pour les filles ou une Nike tennis classic pour les garçons. Sentez l’émotion monter, le papier de soie, l’odeur, tout ça (je vous ai fait le topo il y a deux semaines).

    Vous sortez dans la rue, trop gossebo’, le revers du denim qui vient colorer l’intérieur de la languette toute fraîche, c’est la lune de miel, le monde vous appartient. Mais vous faites gaffe quand même, vous marchez sur des œufs, vous lancez des regards rageurs au moindre frôlement et tous les matins avant de partir, vous leurs passez un petit coup avec l’éponge spéciale que vous gardez sous l’évier. Puis les jours passent, et arrivent les premiers signes d’usure irrémédiable, vous ne les regardez plus comme avant, le quotidien dans sa laide nudité abime tout. C’est la descente brutale, avec son mal au ventre et ses angoisses impossibles à partager. Jusque-là rien de nouveau, il suffit d’en acheter une nouvelle paire et c’est repartit pour un tour de montagnes russes, mais ne nous leurrons pas : c’est comme changer de cabine sur le Titanic.
    Et c’est là qu’intervient cette notion de tempo, après le flash de la nouveauté et les affres du désamour, gît une zone molle difficile à définir et dont personne ne se vante. Mais si vous avez la ressource psychique nécessaire pour la traverser en continuant à porter vos sneakers comme un vieux chien qu’on ne se résout pas à faire piquer, vous serez récompensé de vos efforts.
    Un beau matin, vous apercevrez qu’elles sont pile au bon degré d’usure et prêtes pour une seconde jeunesse. Pourquoi ce jour-là et pas la veille, et combien de temps cela prend-il pour y arriver ? Nul ne le sait, cela fait partie des réponses de la vie que chacun doit découvrir à son propre rythme en suivant son propre chemin.
    Vous donner ma propre estimation ne vous procurerait qu’un soulagement bon marché mais ne vous aiderait en rien vers le chemin de la vérité. J’essaye plutôt de vous donner des clefs pour aller à la rencontre de vous-même. Comme il est cité dans le Mishné Torah :

    « Donne un poisson à un homme, il mangera un jour. Apprends-lui à pêcher, il mangera toute sa vie »

    fat-joe-air-jordan-xi-11-gamma-blue-jamie-foxx-adidas-originals-stan-smith Kanye+West+Kanye+West+Arriving+Hotel+NYC+h_F0SfFDCHVl Run-D.M-680x497

    Mode Baskets Clique Wear

    Commentaires
    Julien Gangnet
    Auteur - Connoisseur - Concepteur rédacteur
    Voir tous ses billets
    Newsletter