Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! No result

    CLIQUE WEAR: Adidas Challenger

    For what is a man, what has he got? If not his tracksuit, then he has naught.
    To wear the things he truly feels; and not the threads of one who kneels.
    (Loose adaptation)

    In the year of our Lord, 1984, at the peak of sportswear’s golden age, Adidas hit the bull’s-eye with the Challenger. The new piece exploded onto the streets, where it became a hit in the blink of an eye, even overshadowing the Italian brands for a time.

    Other than its no-holds-barred design, flat collar, three stripes on the shoulder and the zipper on the calf, the originality of the Challenger was found in the fabric. Adidas briefly abandoned acrylic in favour of the “peach skin”, a fabric a bit like suede, a mix of polyester and cotton, as soft as a baby’s behind.

    1240387179355_f

    260111

    The jacket and trousers were available together in several colours. I fell in love with the sky blue model and made a scene so my grandma would buy me one at the BHV department store in Paris. The players for the French team, Platini’s boys, dressed in navy blue Challengers, with the FFF cockerel sewn onto the chest. This proved to be a true sponsoring coup that year, as the Blues and the “Magic Square” became European champions.
    The Adidas Challenger got a huge boost it wasn’t even expecting. The shock-effect was most felt in the pro-footballing world, as many teams started wearing the Challenger adapted to their team’s colours. The players for the unfortunate Matra Racing team proudly wore a black, grey and blue model, like a huge football.

    Une of couse

    As for the gentlemen of the time, the Challenger was worn in two ways: full suit top and bottom, with a (frankly horrific) roll-neck, or an Ivan Lendl polo shirt, with a zip on the back of the trousers, seductively open and running down to a pair of Stan Smiths (the original model, not the awful 015 rereleases), or a pair of nylon Achilles sneakers. It was also worn with just the jacket, with a pair of 501s or a flared pair of Lois trousers, and accompanied with a pair of Ciak shoes (Clarks imitations sold at André in Paris).

    At the end of 80s, the Challenger was everywhere, sported by those in the know. I think I’m right in saying you could often see several Challengers in the audience of the programme “Hip-Hop”.
    At the time, no one paid attention to the swagg of this nascent movement. All you needed was a cap, not even matching the tracksuit, and there was a dude who knew.

    And then the 80s finished, one thing led to another, and the Kappa tracksuit brought a swift end to the Challenger. It became worn out, full of holes, and reserved for alcoholic dog handlers. A poignant end to this rising star of style.

    Let us never forget that the Challenger was an incredible champion.

    1984-adidas-ad

    Fashion Challenger Clique Wear

    Comments
    Julien Gangnet
    Editorial writer
    All his posts

Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! Aucun résultat

    CLIQUE WEAR : Adidas Challenger

    Je vous parle d’un survêt’ que les moins de 20 ans ne peuvent pas connaître,
    Montmartre en ce temps-là accueillait des kaïra, jusque sous nos fenêtres.
    (Adaptation libre)

    En l’an de grâce 1984, au cœur de l’âge d’or du sportswear, Adidas réussi un coup magistral avec le Challenger. C’est une déflagration sur les boulevards, où ce survêtement devient une pièce majeure en un clin d’œil, éclipsant même pour un temps les marques ritales.

    Outre son design sans concession, col en bord côte, empiècement 3 bandes sur l’épaule et fermeture Éclair sur le mollet, toute l’originalité du Challenger est la matière. Adidas abandonne momentanément l’acrylique pour le « peau de pêche », un tissus comparable au daim, mélange de polyester et de coton, aussi doux que les fesses de l’enfant Jésus.

    1240387179355_f

    260111

    L’ensemble veste et pantalon est disponible en plusieurs couleurs, je craque pour le bleu ciel et je fais une comédie à ma grand-mère jusqu’à ce qu’elle m’en achète un, au BHV. Les joueurs de l’équipe de France, celle de Platini, sont habillés avec le Challenger bleu marine au coq FFF brodé sur la poitrine, une merveille de sponsoring car cette année-là, les bleus et le carré magique deviennent Champion d’Europe.
    C’est un coup de booster énorme pour le Challenger Adidas qui n’en demandait pas tant. Dans le foot pro, c’est le-raz-de-marée, de très nombreuses équipes adoptent le Challenger, désigné à leurs couleurs. Les joueurs du regretté Matra Racing portent fièrement un modèle noir, gris et bleu, une grosse balle.

    Une of couse

    Du côté des gentlemen de l’époque, le Challenger se porte de deux façons : complet haut et bas, avec un pull col cheminé, aussi appelé cheum-cheum, ou un polo Ivan Lendl, la fermeture Éclair du pantalon sur l’arrière du mollet négligemment entre-ouverte, tombant sur une Stan Smith (le modèle original, pas les minables rééditions 015) ou une Achille en nylon. Mais aussi la veste seule, sur un 501 ou un Lois grosses côtes, et chaussé d’une paire de Ciak (imitation Clarks de chez André).

    En cette fin des années 80’ le Challenger est partout sur les épaules des gars à la page et je ne pense pas me tromper en affirmant qu’on peut en voir plusieurs dans le public de l’émission Hip-Hop de Sidney.
    À l’époque, personne n’est trop regardant au niveau du swagg de ce mouvement balbutiant, une casquette Bricorama sur le côté, même pas assortie au survêt’, et te voilà un mec du mouv’.

    Puis la décennie finissant, un clou chasse l’autre et le jogging Kappa met un bon uppercut au Challenger. Ce dernier devient, peau de pêche élimée, poché aux genoux, l’uniforme des maîtres chiens alcooliques, c’est une fin poignante pour cette étoile de la dégaine.

    N’oubliez jamais que ce Challenger a été un immense champion.

    1984-adidas-ad

    Mode Challenger Clique Wear

    Commentaires
    Julien Gangnet
    Auteur - Connoisseur - Concepteur rédacteur
    Voir tous ses billets
    Newsletter