Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! No result

    Brazil: A gay-friendly Church

    At first, I thought I was watching a show by a carioca dance school. On the avenue that runs alongside Copacabana beach, dozens of people clad in yellow T-shirts were hopping about and singing and shouting at the top of their lungs. Most of them were very young. All of them had smiles on their faces. Then, as I got closer, drawn in by curiosity and by their joie de vivre, I was able to read their placards, and I understood who they were. “Sorria, Jesus te aceita”. “Smile: Jesus accepts you”. These people were Pentecostalists, members of the “Contemporary Christian Church”.
    The reason why they are asserting their claim to the Messiah’s love in this way is because for them, it cannot be taken for granted. They are gay.

    For a long time, in Brazil, the world’s largest Catholic country, homosexuality was considered a defect, an abomination.  Still today, pastors on television and in the favelas make overtly homophobic statements. In its latest report, published on January 13, the Grupo Gay da Bahia, a group which has been championing gay rights in Brazil for 30 years, named the country the “world champion” of homophobia. 319 gay, lesbian and transsexual individuals were murdered there last year. This number has almost doubled in ten years, and the vast majority of the crimes remain unsolved.

    Paradoxically, Brazil is home to the world’s biggest gay pride event. Every year, three million people parade through the streets of Sao Paulo. An American magazine recently ranked Rio as the world’s best tourist destination for gay people. There are even some tour operators that specialise in organising gay tour routes. More and more Brazilian homosexuals are leaving a traditional Church which marginalises them, in favour of other evangelical movements such as the Contemporary Christian Church.

     IMG_7585 IMG_7584

    This “inclusive” movement welcomes all believers unconditionally, regardless of their sexual orientation and gender identity.  When it was founded in 2006, it had a congregation of just three, including Pastor Marcos Gladstone. A lawyer by training, he says that he was “chosen by God” to break the taboo of homosexuality in the Church.

    IMG_3680

    The revelation came to him on a visit to a “gay church” in the US. God is love, and homosexuals are part of the flock like everyone else. The problem, he says, stems from centuries-old translation errors in the Bible. Basically, it is all one big misunderstanding, which the Pastor intends to put right by welcoming to his temple anyone who is willing to follow him. Starting with the man who is now his husband, Pastor Fabio Inacio. A former member of the Universal Church of the Kingdom of God, he says that he tried everything to “cure” his homosexuality: exorcism, prayer chains, isolation in hilltop retreats… For years, he spent every penny of his wages on “treatment”. He was even advised to go out with a woman so as to “conform”. But a few days before they were due to get married, he dumped his fiancée, who was “like a sister” to him, and turned his back on the Universal Church, which he now condemns for its hypocrisy. “There are a lot of homosexual preachers like me.” Meeting Marcos reconciled him with God. In 2011, the two men became the first gay couple to wed in the state of Rio de Janeiro.

    DSC_0669

    Since then, Marcos and Fabio have adopted two children, which is permitted under Brazilian law. Today, their Church has nearly 2000 followers, spread across 8 temples in Rio, Sao Paulo and Belo Horizonte.

    FA¦üBIO E MARCOS (259)

    IMG_3759

    Through their own life stories, they want to show that homosexuality is “normal” and “natural”, as their yellow T-shirted followers chanted. “God does not condemn you. He does not judge you,” explains one of them in a gap between two dance routines. “God loves you because he created you the way you are. My name is Rafael, I am gay, and I know that God loves me because He made me this way! Go to our site (Igreja Crista Contemporanea),” says the young man, handing me a flyer. “You’ll find all the explanations, taken from the Bible. God bless you! 


     

    SPOTLIGHT ON GAY PRIDE RIO

    Arriving in Rio on the day of Gay Pride is a unique experience. Even on a normal day, the abundance of bare flesh on the beach is enough to redefine your perception of beauty. No-one is self-conscious here. Young or old, fat or anorexic, it seems the only constant for Brazilian women at the beach is the teeny-weeny size of their bikinis. And then there are the implants. Front and back. Big breasts of all shapes. And buttocks that would make Instagram squat star Jen Selter weep. The men, meanwhile, wear Speedos or Bermuda shorts. The sight of people walking down the street in their bathing costume is perfectly normal. This, after all, is Brazil. You won’t see any monokinis, however. That must be a European thing.

    IMG_7572IMG_7574IMG_7545

    On Gay Pride day, bodies are on show even more than usual. All kinds of bodies. Gays, lesbians, bisexuals, transvestites and pre- and post-op transsexuals are all out and about. Some of them display a level of creativity that one cannot help but admire. A golden-winged angel who looks like he has just come down from Mount Olympus; a lady whose hair appears to be home to a plethora of exotic birds; a sunburnt creature whose buttocks are as well-rounded as her breasts. They are so beautiful, so proud to pose for anyone who asks them with a smile. A smile they happily reciprocate a hundredfold. This is their moment of glory.

    IMG_7579

    IMG_7585

    Alcohol is flowing freely. Caipirinhas are served on the avenue that runs alongside the long Copacabana beach. Some (very) young Brazilians down them in one. One of them, bare-chested, is undergoing hormone treatment. He is beginning to grow breasts. Everyone is dancing to the rhythm of the music that blares out of the passing floats. The lesbian and bi float attracts the most revellers. Seeing me filming, a young girl begins to dance furiously to a piece of funk carioca, the electronic music of the favelas. A few metres behind her, a fight suddenly breaks out. It only lasts a few seconds, but it leaves one man bleeding and distraught. The sound system masks his cries. The party continues. A few joggers pass by. With their headphones on, they are almost indifferent to the other people around them. But they have to stop. Blocked by the crowd, they jog on the spot. The LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bi & Trans) parade is taking up all the space. Today, the street belongs to them.

    IMG_7586IMG_7601 IMG_7592 IMG_7558

    Society Church Homosexuality

    Comments
    Aïda Touihri
    Journalist
    All his posts

Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! Aucun résultat

    Brésil : L’Eglise qui aimait les gays

    Au début, j’ai cru au spectacle d’une école de danse carioca. En T-shirt jaune, le long de l’avenue qui borde la plage de Copacabana, ils étaient plusieurs dizaines à s’époumoner en sautillant. La plupart étaient très jeunes. Tous avaient le sourire. Et puis en m’approchant, gagnée par la curiosité autant que par leur joie de vivre, j’ai pu lire leurs pancartes. Et j’ai compris. « Sorria, Jesus te aceita ». « Souriez, Jésus vous accepte. » Je me trouvais face à des pentecôtistes, membres d’une certaine « Église Chrétienne Contemporaine ».
    S’ils revendiquaient ainsi l’amour du Messie, c’est que pour eux ce n’était pas gagné. Ils sont homosexuels.

    Dans le plus grand pays catholique du monde, ce fut longtemps une tare, une abomination. Aujourd’hui encore, des pasteurs tiennent des discours clairement homophobes à la télévision comme dans les favelas. Dans son dernier rapport en date du 13 janvier, le Groupe Gay da Bahia qui défend les droits des homosexuels depuis trente ans au Brésil, classe le pays champion du monde de l’homophobie. 319 gays, lesbiens ou transsexuels y ont été assassinés l’an dernier. Un nombre qui a quasiment doublé en dix ans, alors que les crimes restent pour une grande majorité non-élucidés.

    Paradoxalement, c’est au Brésil que se tient la plus grande gay pride au monde. Trois millions de personnes défilent chaque année à Sao Paulo. La ville de Rio a récemment été classée par un journal américain meilleure destination touristique pour les gays. Des tours operators se sont même spécialisés dans l’organisation de circuits « special gay ». Et de plus en plus d’homosexuels brésiliens quittent une église traditionnelle qui les marginalise pour d’autres courants évangéliques telles que l’Eglise Chrétienne Contemporaine que je découvre alors.

     IMG_7585 IMG_7584

    Ce mouvement dit inclusif accueille inconditionnellement tou(te)s les fidèles quelles que soient leur orientation sexuelle et leur identité de genre.  Lorsqu’il a été fondé en 2006, il ne comptait que trois adeptes, dont le Pasteur Marcos Gladstone. Cet avocat de formation dit avoir été « choisi par Dieu » pour briser le tabou de l’homosexualité dans l’Eglise.

    IMG_3680

    C’est aux États-Unis, où il visite une « gay church », que lui est venue la révélation. Dieu est amour, et les homosexuels sont des ouailles comme les autres. Le problème viendrait en fait des erreurs de traduction de la Bible, depuis des siècles. Un grand malentendu en somme, que le Pasteur entend dissiper en accueillant dans son temple qui veut bien le suivre. A commencer par celui qui est aujourd’hui son mari, le Pasteur Fabio Inacio. Ancien membre de l’Eglise Universelle du Royaume de Dieu, il raconte avoir tout tenté pour « guérir » de son homosexualité : l’exorcisme, les chaînes de prières, l’isolement au sommet des collines… Pendant des années, il dépense l’intégralité de son salaire dans ses « traitements ». On lui recommande même de fréquenter une femme pour « rentrer dans le moule ». Mais à quelques jours du mariage, il plaque une fiancée qui lui était « comme une sœur », et claque la porte de l’Eglise universelle dont il dénonce aujourd’hui l’hypocrisie. « Il y a beaucoup de pasteurs homosexuels comme moi. » Sa rencontre avec Marcos le réconcilie avec Dieu. Les deux hommes deviennent le premier couple homosexuel à s’unir dans l’état de Rio de Janeiro, en 2011.

    DSC_0669

    Depuis, Marcos et Fabio ont adopté deux enfants, comme le permet la loi brésilienne. Leur église compte aujourd’hui près de 2000 fidèles répartis dans les huit temples du pays, à Rio, Sao Paulo et Belo Horizonte.

    FA¦üBIO E MARCOS (259)

    IMG_3759

    À travers leur parcours, ils veulent montrer que l’homosexualité est « normale » et « naturelle », comme le clament ce jour-là leurs fidèles en T-shirt jaune. « Dieu ne vous condamne pas. Il ne vous juge pas, m’explique l’un d’eux entre deux chorégraphies. Dieu vous aime car Il vous a créé tel que vous êtes. Je m’appelle Rafael, je suis gay, et je sais que Dieu m’aime car c’est Lui qui m’a créé comme ça ! Allez sur notre site, (Igreja Crista Contemporanea) me dit le jeune homme en me tendant un flyer. Vous y trouverez toutes les explications tirées de la Bible. Que Dieu vous bénisse ! »


     

    FOCUS SUR « LA GAY PRIDE DE RIO »

    Débarquer à Rio le jour de la Gay pride est une expérience unique. Déjà sur la plage, la débauche de chair nue peut changer votre vision du beau. Car ici, point de complexes. Jeune ou vieille, grosse ou anorexique, la seule constante de la Brésilienne à la plage semble être la taille du bikini : rikiki. Sans oublier les prothèses. Devant et derrière. Des gros seins de toutes les formes. Et des fesses à faire pâlir Jen Selter, la star du squat sur instagram. Les hommes, eux, portent slip ou bermuda. Qu’ils ou elles se baladent en maillot de bain dans la rue ? Normal. Vous êtes au Brésil. En revanche, pas de monokini, hein. Ce doit être un truc d’Européen…

    IMG_7572IMG_7574IMG_7545

    En ce jour de Gay pride, les corps se montrent encore davantage. Tous les corps. Gays, lesbiennes, bissexuels, travestis, transsexuels ou en passe de l’être, sont de sortie. Certain(e)s font preuve d’une créativité qui force l’admiration. Tel cet ange aux ailes dorées qu’on dirait descendu du mont Olympe. Ou cette autre dont la chevelure semble abriter quantité d’oiseaux exotiques. Ou encore cette créature brûlée par le soleil et dont les fesses sont aussi rebondies que les seins. Ils sont si beaux, si fiers de poser pour qui les sollicite avec le sourire. Ils le rendent bien volontiers, au centuple. N’est-ce pas leur heure de gloire ?

    IMG_7579

    IMG_7585

    L’alcool coule à flots. On sert de la caïpirinha à même l’avenue qui borde la longue plage de Copacabana. De –très- jeunes Brésiliens la boivent cul sec. L’un d’eux, torse nu, doit être en plein traitement hormonal. Il a les seins qui poussent. Tous dansent au rythme de la musique crachée par les camions de la parade. Celui des lesbiennes et bi attire le plus de monde. En me voyant filmer, une jeune fille se lance dans une danse de funk carioca, cette musique électronique issue des favelas. A quelques mètres derrière éclate tout à coup une bagarre. Elle ne dure que quelques secondes, mais laisse un Brésilien en sang, hagard. La sono couvre ses cris. La fête continue. Quelques joggers passent. Casque sur les oreilles, ils sont presque indifférents à l’’autre monde qui les entoure. Mais force est de s’arrêter. Bloqués par la foule, ils font du sur-place. La parade des LGBT (Lesbiens, Gays, Bi & Trans) occupe tout l’espace. Aujourd’hui, la rue leur appartient.

    IMG_7586IMG_7601 IMG_7592 IMG_7558

    Société Eglise Homosexualité

    Commentaires
    Aïda Touihri
    Journaliste
    Voir tous ses billets
    Newsletter