Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! No result

    Verona: the “Tinder” looking to match Israelis and Palestinians

    Can we achieve world peace by using a dating app? That’s the challenge taken on by Verona, a mobile app (spotted by the Israeli daily newspaper Haaretz) used to match Palestinians and Israelis, whether they’re looking for true love, or just a simple, peaceful contact with the Other.

    The user signs in via Facebook, scrolls through profiles and swipes the screen left or right depending on if they like what they see or not. It’s almost exactly like Tinder… Except that first, they say whether they are Palestinian or Israeli, and only have access to profiles from the other country.

    Capture d’écran 2015-05-18 à 11.30.27

    The creator of Verona, Matthew Nolan, 31, is from New York. He says he thought of the idea when watching a couple of friends. So far the app has been downloaded more than 1,000 times.
    “I was talking to a Palestinian friend who had a new Israeli girlfriend”, he said on the site Refinery29. “We were joking about JDate (a highly popular dating site for members of the Jewish community, Ed. Note). I said ‘We should make a J-P Date, Jewish-Palestinian Date’”.
    As for the name, it was chosen in reference to the famous city of Romeo and Juliette.

    Ronald Hatto, Professor of International Relations at CERI-Sciences Po, didn’t hide his scepticism. “It’s an original idea”, he told us, “But the two sides are so radicalised that I can’t see how a cute app created by a guy from New York could bring people together.

    We’ve all seen the recent elections in Israel. Everyone thought Netanyahu was going to lose, but in fact he won. It’s a bad sign for the peace process. And as for the Palestinians, there’s not much to be more optimistic about. Let’s just say that if it works, he deserves to win the Nobel Peace Prize”.

    It’s true this project is nothing if not ambitious, especially in light of the Palestinder experiment. Last July during the resurging Israel-Palestine conflict, a group of young Americans travelled to Ramallah in the West Bank. They were on a humanitarian mission to teach English. The group decided to sign up to Tinder and start talking to Israelis.
    They then posted screenshots of their exchanges on a Tumblr called Palestinder.
    The messages, spotted by ForeignPolicy, say a lot about the delicate matter of dating between the two sides of the wall…

    More often than not, the conversations stopped short:

    Capture d’écran 2015-05-18 à 11.08.22

    – Where’s Palestine again? I’ve never heard of it.
    – Is that a joke?
    – I live in Israel, and it’s not a joke, that place doesn’t exist anymore. There are towns in Israel where Arabs live, and that’s why Palestine doesn’t exist.

    Capture d’écran 2015-05-18 à 15.40.27

    – Hey! What are you doing in Ramallah for the summer? A part from trying to stay alive?

    But thankfully, from time to time “Love” is conquers all…:

    Capture d’écran 2015-05-18 à 11.18.02

    – I don’t speak Hebrew.
    – Don’t worry. I can read numbers. Send me your number.

    Capture d’écran 2015-05-18 à 10.56.11

    – So you’re Arab and I’m Jewish, that’s not a problem for you?
    – Well… There was Romeo and Juliette…
    – Hahaha. Send me some more photos?

    There’s just one little hitch. If Verona, more than Tinder, manages to create love between Palestinians and Israelis, the happy couples will still have to cross checkpoints to meet up… And that’s a whole different ball game.

    Society Israël Palestine

    Comments

Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! Aucun résultat

    Verona, le « Tinder » qui veut matcher Israéliens et Palestiniens

    La paix dans le monde peut-elle passer par une application de rencontres ? C’est le pari de Verona, une application mobile (repérée par le quotidien israélien Haaretz) dédiée aux rencontres entre Palestiniens et Israéliens, qu’ils soient à la recherche du grand amour ou d’un simple contact pacifié avec l’Autre.

    L’utilisateur, qui s’inscrit via Facebook, fait défiler les profils devant ses yeux et balaye l’écran vers la gauche ou vers la droite, selon son intérêt pour la personne. Presque intégralement comme Tinder… Sauf qu’auparavant, il aura indiqué s’il est Palestinien ou Israélien, et n’aura accès qu’aux profils différents du sien.

    Capture d’écran 2015-05-18 à 11.30.27

    Le concepteur de Verona, Matthew Nolan, 31 ans, vient de New-York. L’idée lui est venue, dit-t-il, en observant un couple d’amis. Pour l’instant, il revendique plus d’un millier de téléchargements.
    “Je parlais à un ami Palestinien, qui avait une nouvelle petite amie Israélienne, » explique-t-il au site Refinery29. “On plaisantait à propos de JDate (un très célèbre site de rencontres pour les membres de la communauté juive, NDLR). J’ai dit, ‘On devrait faire un J-P Date, Juif-Palestinien Date’”.
    Quant au nom, il a été choisi en référence à Vérone, la ville de Roméo et Juliette.

    Ronald Hatto, profeseur de relations internales au CERI-Sciences Po, ne cache pas son scepticisme. « C’est une idée originale », nous dit-il, « Mais les deux positions sont tellement radicalisées que je vois mal comment une jolie application faite par un New-yorkais pourrait réconcilier les gens.

    Vous avez vu les élections en Israël récemment. Tout le monde croyait que Netanyahu allait perdre, et en fait il est passé. C’est mauvais signe pour le processus de paix. Et du côté palestinien, il n’y a pas de quoi être beaucoup plus optimiste ». Disons que si ça le fait, il faut lui donner le prix Nobel de la Paix ».

    Il est vrai que le projet est pour le moins ambitieux, notamment si l’on se souvient de l’expérience Palestinder : en juillet dernier, en plein regain de conflit israélo-palestinien, un groupe de jeunes Américains séjourne à Ramallah, en Cisjordanie. En voyage humanitaire, ils viennent enseigner l’anglais. Le groupe décide de s’inscrire sur Tinder et d’initier la conversation avec des Israéliens.
    Les jeunes gens postent ensuite des captures d’écran sur un Tumblr, Palestinder.
    Les messages, alors repérés par ForeignPolicy, en disent long sur l’entreprise délicate qu’est la drague entre côtés opposés du mur…

    Le plus souvent, les échanges tournent court :

    Capture d’écran 2015-05-18 à 11.08.22

    – Et où se trouve la Palestine je n’en ai jamais entendu parler ?
    – C’est une blague ?
    – Je vis en Israël et ce n’est pas une blague, cet endroit n’existe plus. Il y des villes en Israël où vivent des Arabes, c’est la raison pour laquelle la Palestine n’existe pas.

    Capture d’écran 2015-05-18 à 15.40.27

    – Hey ! Qu’est-ce que tu fais à Ramallah pour l’été ? À part essayer de rester en vie ?

    Mais heureusement, de temps à autres l’ « Amour » est plus fort que tout… :

    Capture d’écran 2015-05-18 à 11.18.02

    – Je ne parle pas l’hébreu
    – Pas de souci. Je peux lire les chiffres. Envoie ton numéro.

    Capture d’écran 2015-05-18 à 10.56.11

    – Donc tu es Arabe et je suis Juif, ça ne te pose pas problème ?
    – Ben… Il y a eu Roméo et Juliette…
    – Hahaha. Tu as plus de photos ?

    Reste à régler un petit détail. Admettant que Verona, plus que Tinder, parvienne à créer l’amour entre Palestiniens et Israéliens : pour que les heureux élus puissent se rejoindre, il leur faudra encore traverser les checkpoints… Et ça, c’est une autre paire de manches.

    Société Israël Palestine

    Commentaires
    Newsletter