Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! No result
    Photo portrait de Louis Wong designer APC

    WHO ARE YOU…? Louis Wong, designer at A.P.C.

    Who are you?
    I’m Louis Wong. I’m 38 years old and I have been a designer at A.P.C for 10 years. Over the past 3-4 years, Jean Touitou has given me the chance to create something extra within APC – a collection that bears my name, “Louis W”.

    LOUIS_W© Bruno Staub

    Capsule collections are very common. But giving an ‘in-house’ designer the opportunity to produce one is much rarer…
    It does exist, but mostly at Japanese labels. A.P.C. works in a very particular way: it’s Jean (Touitou)’s firm, and he is the master of the house. I work with Judith, his wife. Because it’s a very small team, we all work together to create designs.
    There’s a family atmosphere here – we’re colleagues, but we are very attached to each other (laughs). I feel as though I’m a sort of ‘spiritual son’ of A.P.C. That might seem a bit strong, but I think that about sums it up, because people are always moving around in the fashion world. I haven’t done that: I have decided to spend time building a relationship with A.P.C.

    Directed by: Adrien Cothier & Louis Levy

    What made you want to forge such a strong bond with A.P.C.?
    It’s quite a special brand – it’s not small, but it’s not a big luxury fashion house either. A.P.C. has a very strong and very distinctive identity, built around its founder. When I arrived, I didn’t know much about A.P.C. I came from the luxury world. When I got here, I discovered another way of thinking – another kind of design.

    You say you came from the luxury world. Can you tell me a bit about your background?
    I have an art history background. I’ve got a Master’s in it. At the time, I knew I wanted to work in fashion, but I was afraid of limiting myself, of going straight into clothes and never doing anything else. I still looked for internships in fashion at the same time. I got one at Vuitton… and I stayed there. It was a terrific experience, but the A.P.C. approach couldn’t be more different. It’s not a brand that operates under pressure to impress. When you work in the luxury world, you never see the clothes you have designed out on the street…

    louiswong

    And was that the case here?
    Yes! When I arrived, I rediscovered Paris’s 6th arrondissement. It was around the time of the baby rockers. I would go for lunch next to the Alsacienne [a prestigious local private school] and see all these kids smoking.

    Visually, it was crazy: I would design little A.P.C jackets and see them on young trendies the following year.

    Or on their dads – the neighbourhood is a bit like that. Actually having your clothes worn by people in their everyday lives is a completely different experience.

    lwss2013© Bruno Staub

    How did the “Louis W.” collection come about?
    As I’d been here for a few years, Jean asked me how I saw my career progressing. I had a cool job from the start, but the structure of the firm was such that career development opportunities are pretty limited, so my own collection was the obvious choice. Particularly as Jean had already worked a little bit with A.P.C Madras on a slightly girlier, more flowery line. He asked me what I wanted to make.
    I thought long and hard about it. I loved leather, but ordinary, unironic leather – not luxury leather. That’s what gave me the idea to design a series of jackets. What I wanted to do, from the start, was to add visuals – something that told a story.

    The idea was to do something that dovetailed perfectly with A.P.C.’s aesthetic, but at the same time to create my own story, to write a different script.

    11106339_10152656804177676_1041293194_n.jpg© Bruno Staub

    It’s interesting that you use the word ‘script’. Almost everything you produce for your collection is highly cinematic. There are references everywhere every season, from Top Gun, to Gus Van Sant, to Grease 2.
    Because I liked the idea of the leather jacket at the very start, my points of reference were bound to be films. I thought about French films, Depardieu’s cop movies in the 1970s, like Police by Maurice Pialat.

    Or even the much more clichéd films of the 1980s, the college movies. The idea was to provide a counterpoint to chic leather, designer leather, big-brand leather.

    What I was interested in were the leather jackets worn by bikers and the man on the street. The ones you see in second-hand shops and can’t wear because they’re so tattered.

    Now, it’s grown, and I don’t just make leather stuff. There are a dozen or so pieces, including knitwear. I wanted to take the concept further, find new angles.

    One of your collections is called “Escape” and is inspired by road movies. Another is inspired by all things Queer. The first overtly appropriated “traditional” masculine codes. Do you choose a theme each time?
    Let’s say that there is a story each time. For the “Queer” collection, which you mentioned, I made a jacket with sheepskin on the outside. It was just after Frank Ocean had come out. I express what I am: I put the sheepskin on the outside rather than on the inside. Yeah, it’s a little bit conceptual (laughs). Each season has its own story.

    lwcomoingout
    © Bruno Staub

    The last one had a strong ‘hunting-shooting-fishing’ feel, with very traditional chestnut-coloured leather jackets. You see it a lot in the streets, too. You often see young people with Barbours, even the cool ones. I presented that in January – not a great time in Paris… I asked myself: “Why work on such traditional clothes?” And I realised it was because there was something very reassuring about these kinds of clothes. So I called the collection “Comfort Zone”. It’s an item of clothing which makes you feel protected and at peace in a perfect, ultra-safe world.

    Your “Escape” collection reminded me of Terence Malick’s Badlands, in which Martin Sheen runs away with his girlfriend on a road trip across America’s highways. Is there a connection?
    I haven’t seen it (laughs). My point of reference was actually My Own Private Idaho, by Gus Van Sant. But it’s the same thing, it’s an American road trip movie, with guys who take to the road and soon enough don’t know where they are anymore. That’s why I often make short films: it allows me to show that guy in his jacket. Often, I let them wear their own clothes, so fashion doesn’t come into it.

    apc

    Do you often make short films to go with your collections?
    Yes, I had the idea for my very first collection. I was lucky enough to have some friends who were film students, and I thought, “Let’s go for it. We’ll make a film.” I do it about every two seasons now. I come up with the initial concept and my pals work on the casting and suggest things. That’s the way it’s done.

    Your films tend to feature one or two characters going through an experience. It’s as if you enter their lives for a fleeting moment, and then leave again.
    Yes, it’s very spontaneous. Our latest film, Audition, shows a leading man auditioning for a role. The guy was a friend of a friend. I hired him on the strength of his photo. We asked him questions and he improvised the answers. Everything slotted together nicely. It really made me laugh when he mentioned Top Gun as his favourite movie, as it’s one of mine, too. It’s such a weird film – so crazy visually.

    Directed by: Grant Curatola & Louis Levy

    And do you have any other cinematic influences?
    I’d probably have to say Ridley Scott’s films. Carpenter’s horror movies, too – Carpenter is a genius. Or Last Year at Marienbad – more conventional, but superb.

    You also mentioned college movies. I was wondering: do you design with a particular age range in mind?
    Seeing as my collection is luxury leather, it’s a bit expensive, and I thought it might appeal to parents as well as their children. I could picture a stylish 45-year-old dad buying it for himself and having his son pinch it.

    It is true that the price automatically narrows the age range of your clientèle. A few months ago, you retweeted messages by people saying that your clothes were much too expensive.
    Yeah, that really made me laugh. It was very spontaneous. It was young guys saying, “Hey, dude. Your jacket is cool, but it’s a bit expensive“. And it’s true. Fashion sometimes has that absurd side – I’m thinking mostly of catwalk fashion – where you see really beautiful clothes on 16-year-old kids, and you wonder: when will they really get the opportunity to wear them on a day-to-day basis? That’s all very abstract stuff. But it’s also what is fun about it. You’re selling a dream, too.

    Front-page photo  © Bruno Staub

    Fashion Who are you Interview

    Comments
    Laura Aronica
    Journalist
    All his posts

Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! Aucun résultat
    Photo portrait de Louis Wong designer APC

    QUI ES-TU… Louis Wong, designer chez A.P.C.

    Qui es-tu ?
    Je suis Louis Wong, j’ai 38 ans. Je suis designer chez A.P.C depuis dix ans. Et depuis 3-4 ans, Jean Touitou m’a donné la chance de créer quelque chose en plus à l’intérieur d’APC – une collection qui porte mon nom, « Louis W ».

    LOUIS_W© Bruno Staub

    Les collections capsules, ça se fait beaucoup. Mais donner à un designer « interne » la possibilité de le faire, c’est beaucoup plus rare…
    C’est quelque chose qui existe oui, mais plus chez les créateurs japonais. Le fonctionnement d’A.P.C est très particulier : c’est la boîte de Jean (Touitou), qui est le maître des lieux. Moi je travaille avec Judith, sa femme. Comme c’est une  très petite équipe, on travaille tous ensemble pour créer.
    On évolue dans un endroit très familial, c’est comme une relation sentimentale-professionnelle, on va dire (rires). Disons que j’ai le sentiment de faire partie d’A.P.C comme une sorte de « fils spirituel ». L’expression est peut-être forte, mais je pense qu’on peut dire ça comme ça, parce que dans la mode il y a des mouvements perpétuels. Moi, au contraire, j’ai choisi, petit à petit, de construire une relation avec A.P.C.

    Réalisateurs : Adrien Cothier & Louis Levy

    Qu’est-ce qui t’a donné envie de construire un lien aussi fort avec A.P.C. ?
    C’est une marque assez particulière – ni une petite marque, ni un grand groupe de luxe. A.P.C. a une identité très forte, très singulière, liée à son créateur. Quand je suis arrivé, je ne connaissais pas très bien A.P.C. Je venais du luxe. En arrivant, j’ai découvert un autre type de pensée, un autre type de création.

    Tu a dit que tu venais du luxe, peux-tu me résumer ton parcours ?
    Je viens de l’histoire de l’art, j’ai une maîtrise dans ce domaine. À l’époque, je savais que je voulais travailler dans la mode. Mais j’avais très peur de me limiter, de me confronter immédiatement au vêtement, de n’être que là-dedans. En parallèle, j’ai quand même cherché des stages dans la mode, et je suis entré chez Vuitton… Et j’y suis resté. C’était une super expérience, mais la démarche d’A.P.C. n’a rien à voir. C’est une marque qui ne fonctionne pas avec la pression de devoir impressionner. Et puis quand tu bosses pour le luxe, tu ne vois jamais ce que tu crées au détour d’une rue…

    louiswong

    Là, c’était le cas ?
    Oui ! Quand je suis arrivé, j’ai redécouvert le 6e arrondissement de Paris. C’était l’époque des bébés rockeurs. J’allais déjeuner à côté de l’Alsacienne et je voyais tous ces kids qui fumaient.

    Visuellement, c’était très fou : je dessinais des petits blousons A.P.C. et je les voyais portés sur des minets l’année suivante.

    Ou par leur père, c’est assez comme ça dans ce quartier. Que ce soit porté, vécu, c’est une expérience complètement différente.

    lwss2013© Bruno Staub

    La collection « Louis W. », comment c’est arrivé ?
    Comme ça faisait déjà quelques années que j’étais ici, Jean m’a demandé comment je voulais évoluer. J’ai eu un poste cool dès le départ, mais vu la structure, l’évolution est plutôt limitée, du coup l’idée de la collection est venue d’elle-même. D’autant plus que Jean l’avait déjà un peu fait avec A.P.C Madras, une ligne de vêtements un peu plus girly, fleurie. Il m’a demandé ce que je voulais créer.
    J’ai longuement réfléchi. J’adorais l’univers du cuir, mais du cuir premier degré, pas du cuir de luxe, c’est comme ça que j’ai eu l’idée de créer une série de blousons. Ce que j’ai voulu, dès le départ, c’est d’ajouter des visuels, quelque chose qui raconte une histoire.

    Le principe, c’est de faire quelque chose de super cohérent, esthétiquement, avec A.P.C., mais d’écrire ma propre histoire, de raconter un autre scénario.

    11106339_10152656804177676_1041293194_n.jpg© Bruno Staub

    Le mot scénario n’est pas anodin, presque tout ce que tu fais pour ta collection est très cinématographique, les références sont partout, chaque saison, de Top Gun à Grease 2, en passant par Gus Van Sant.
    Comme j’aimais bien l’idée du blouson en cuir au tout départ, mes références étaient forcément cinématographiques. Je pensais à des films français, les films de flics de Depardieu dans les années 70, comme Police de Pialat.

    Ou même à des films bien plus clichés des années 80, les college moviesL’idée, c’était d’aller à l’opposé du cuir chic, du cuir de créateur, de grande maison.

    Ce qui m’intéressait, c’était le blouson de cuir de biker, le blouson du mec de tous les jours. Celui que tu vois dans les friperies mais que tu ne peux pas porter parce qu’il est en mauvais état.

    Maintenant, ça s’est agrandi, je ne fais plus seulement du cuir. Il y a une douzaine de pièces et de la maille. Je voulais faire évoluer le concept, trouver de nouveaux angles.

    L’une de tes collections s’appelle « Escape » et s’inspire des roadmovies. Une autre s’inspire de l’univers Queer. La première reprenait ouvertement les codes masculins « traditionnels ». Tu choisis un thème, à chaque fois ?
    Disons qu’à chaque fois, il y a une histoire. Pour la collection « Queer » dont tu parles, par exemple, j’ai fait un blouson avec le mouton à l’extérieur. C’est à l’époque où Franck Ocean avait fait son coming out. J’exprime qui je suis  : je mets le mouton à l’extérieur au lieu de le mettre à l’intérieur. Oui, c’est un peu conceptuel (rires). Chaque saison a son histoire différente.

    lwcomoingout
    © Bruno Staub

    La dernière, et très « Chasse et Tradition ». C’est des blousons en cuir marron glacé, très tradi… Ça se voit beaucoup dans la rue d’ailleurs, tu vois souvent des jeunes avec des Barbours, mais même des mecs cools. J’ai présenté ça en janvier, l’époque où ce n’était pas génial à Paris… Je me suis dit : « Pourquoi travailler des vêtements aussi traditionnels? » ? Et me suis rendu compte que c’est parce qu’il y a quelque chose de très rassurant, dans ce type de vêtements. Du coup j’ai appelé cette collection « Comfort Zone ». C’est le vêtement où tu te sens en paix et à l’abri dans un monde parfait, ultra sécurisé.

    Ta collection « Escape »  m’a rappelé la Balade Sauvage, de Terrence Malick, avec Martin Sheen qui part en cavale avec sa copine sur les routes américaines. Rien à voir ?
    Je ne l’ai pas vu (rires). La référence là c’était plutôt My Own Private Idaho, de Gus Van Sant. Mais disons que c’est pareil, c’est le côté road trip américain. Des mecs qui vont sur la route et qui ne savent plus où ils en sont. C’est pour ça que je fais souvent des courts-métrages : ça permet de montrer le petit mec comme ça, qui porte son blouson. Souvent, je les laisse mettre leurs vêtements à eux, comme ça il n’y aucune intention de mode.

    apc

    Tu fais souvent des courts-métrages pour accompagner tes collections ?
    Oui, j’ai imaginé ça pour la première collection. J’avais la chance d’avoir des copains étudiants en cinéma, je me suis dit « go! », on monte un projet. Je le fais toutes les deux saisons environ. J’amène le concept de départ et mes potes bossent sur le casting, proposent des trucs. Ça se fait comme ça.

    Tu mets en scène un ou deux personnages qui vivent un moment. Comme si tu entrais dans leur vie et que tu en ressortais.
    Voilà, c’est très spontané. Pour le dernier, Audition, il y a un acteur principal qui passe un casting. Le mec était un ami d’ami, je l’ai pris sur photo. On lui posait des questions, il improvisait les réponses. Tout s’est bien imbriqué, ça m’a d’ailleurs beaucoup fait rire quand il a cité Top Gun pour son film préféré, vu que c’est aussi l’un des miens. C’est un film tellement bizarre, tellement fou visuellement.

    Réalisateurs : Grant Curatola & Louis Levy

    D’ailleurs, si tu devais me citer d’autres références cinématographiques, qu’est-ce que tu dirais ?
    Certainement ceux de Ridley Scott. Les films d’horreur de Carpenter aussi – Carpenter, c’est un génie. Ou L’année dernière à Marienbad, plus classique, mais superbe.

    Et les college movies, visiblement, ces films américains qui mettent en scène des jeunes à la fac. Du coup je me demandais : est-ce que tu crées pour une catégorie d’âge particulière ?
    Vu que ma collection est faite de cuir luxe, un peu cher, je me suis dit que ça allait plaire aux parents mais aussi à leurs fils. Je voyais bien le mec de 45 ans, un peu chic, qui l’achète… et le fils qui lui pique.

    C’est vrai que le niveau du prix restreint automatiquement l’âge de la clientèle. D’ailleurs, il y a quelques mois, tu as retweeté des mecs qui t’ont dit que tes habits étaient beaux mais trop chers.
    Oui, ça m’avait fait trop rire, c’était très spontané. C’étaient des mecs tout jeunes qui disaient « Hé mec, Elle est cool ta veste, mais elle est un peu chère« . Et c’est vrai, la mode a parfois ce côté absurde – je pense surtout à la mode de défilés – où tu vas voir des vêtements très très beaux sur des mecs qui n’ont que 16 ans : quand est-ce qu’ils auront vraiment l’occasion de les porter tous les jours ? Tout ça est une abstraction. Mais c’est aussi ce qui est amusant, tu vends aussi un rêve.

    Photographie à la une  © Bruno Staub

    Mode Qui es-tu ? Interview

    Commentaires
    Laura Aronica
    Rédactrice en chef adjointe
    Voir tous ses billets
    Newsletter