Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! No result

    CLIQUE WEAR: Varsity furious, Varsity beaten, but Varsity free!

    Man has sported emblems in the name of survival for centuries. These tags displayed their family’s identity, stopped them getting roughed up in the woods, or simply avoided a stray blow from an axe during melees on the battlefield.

    The knights and musketeers have long since faded away, taking with them their blazers and doublets. But the American Ivy League universities have reclaimed the trend with the letter sweater and the varsity jacket, now worn by their athletes for inter-campus competitions and embellished with insignia for each victory.

    2 Deux varsity

    5 LETTER JACKET

    While these clothes were traditionally won through sporting triumph, they quickly spread to less energetic students and finally to local rockers. Perhaps in the hope of chatting up high-class chicks?

    It’s interesting to see that the pioneers of these clothes are once again at the two extremes of the food chain: students from wealthy families, and American and English kids from the working classes.

    This double fashion passion can be observed several times over during the 20th century. But the arrival of the Internet enabled the popularisation of the smallest trend by making it available to all, squashing the concept of “true fans in the know.”

    3 Mob Deep

    For example, for thirty years Lacoste polo shirts only appealed to dentists in the south and guys from the projects. Then the wave of raw denim, beards and Stan Smith came and changed the game.

    Now, a neurotic fashion sense shared by these two social classes could mean they are able to predict and adopt nascent trends together and meet halfway, but I digress.

    Varsity clothing was worn non-stop from the fifties until the eighties, sported by Europe’s brand of rockabillies, tying in with fifties trends, batcave fashion and even the Parisian counterparts of punks and panthers.

    4 ROCKABILLIES

    Surprisingly, when the trend arrived in Europe it bypassed the uniforms of the wealthier areas, giving its wearers both a certain credibility and the risk of losing their new threads in altercations in the metro.

    These rock-born trends started fading, and slipped out of the spotlight at the same time as the varsity jacket when electro and hip hop started striking chords with the younger generations. But legends never really die, and the varsity jacket made a comeback in the early 90s with a ghastly new look, revamped by the biggest US street-wear brands such as Pelle Pelle, Mark Echo and Walter Davucci.

    6 PELLE PELLE7 PELLE PELLE

    The immortal varsity jacket is still here today. It’s not in a great way, its original meaning is a distant memory, and the new black-on-black version has been mangled ad nauseam by both designers and high-street brands.

    8 NAUSEE

    9 NAUSEE

    But we haven’t heard the last of the varsity jacket. There will always be a Golden Bear waiting for its chance to shine.

    10 FINALE
    1459727505_1cfa97c072_b

    1954-1955lettermansclub_farmington_new_mexicoCapture d’écran 2014-12-09 à 19.35.33

    Fashion Clique Wear

    Comments
    Julien Gangnet
    Editorial writer
    All his posts

Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! Aucun résultat

    CLIQUE WEAR : Teddy outragé, Teddy martyrisé, mais Teddy libéré !

    Pendant des siècles, les hommes ont porté des emblèmes pour une question de survie : montrer de quelle famille ils faisaient partie et ne pas se faire embrouiller dans une clairière ou simplement ne pas recevoir un coup de hache dans la confusion du champ de bataille.

    Longtemps après que les chevaliers et les mousquetaires eurent disparu, et avec eux le swagg blasons et pourpoints, les universités américaines de la prestigieuse Ivy ligue ont relancé la tendance avec le letter sweater et le varsity jacket (Teddy en VF) portés par leurs athlètes durant les rencontres inter campus, et enjolivés d’écussons au fur et à mesure des victoires.

    2 Deux varsity

    5 LETTER JACKET

    Mais si à l’origine ces deux pièces se gagnaient de haute lutte, elles se sont vite démocratisées chez les étudiants non sportifs, pour finalement être adoptées aussi par les rockers du coin. Dans l’espoir de serrer des meufs de la haute ?

    Il est intéressant de constater qu’une fois de plus, les early adopter de ces vêtements se situent aux deux extrémités de la chaîne alimentaire : étudiants issus de familles fortunées, et Greaser américains et anglais, enfants des classes populaires.

    Ce double engouement stylistique se répétera plusieurs fois au cours du XXe siècle jusqu’à ce qu’Internet vienne vulgariser la moindre tendance en mettant tout à la portée de tous, rendant obsolète le concept des vrais qui savent.

    3 Mob Deep

    Pour exemple, pendant 30 ans le polo Lacoste n’a intéressé que les dentistes bordelais et les mecs de cité, avant que le krach denim-brut-barbe-et-Stan-Smith ne vienne rebattre les cartes.

    Il n’est pas interdit de penser qu’une construction névrotique commune à ces deux classes sociales ne les mette en position d’appréhender et d’adopter les tendances balbutiantes et leur permette de se rejoindre au milieu du gué, mais pardon je digresse.

    Le Teddy donc, est porté sans discontinuer des années 50 aux années 80 par tout ce que l’Europe compte de rockab’ et affiliés, fifties, batcaves et même punks et panthers dans leurs versions parisiennes.

    4 ROCKABILLIES

    Étonnamment, en touchant le vieux continent il passe à côté de l’uniforme des beaux quartiers, assurant à ceux qui le porte une certaine crédibilité mais aussi le risque de devoir le céder sous la menace au détour d’un couloir de métro.

    Las, ces tendances issues du rock se font plus discrètes et s’éteignent doucement en même temps que le Teddy pendant que les musiques électroniques et le hip hop remplacent les accords plaqués dans le cœur des kids. Mais les légendes en meurent jamais, le Teddy revient au goût du jour à l’orée des 90’s sous une forme cauchemardesque, revue par les plus grands noms du street-wear US : Pelle Pelle, Mark Echo, Walter Davucci et consorts.

    6 PELLE PELLE7 PELLE PELLE

    Aujourd’hui l’increvable Teddy est toujours là, mal en point et vidé de son sens certes, sa version noir sur noir remixé jusqu’à la nausée par les créateurs comme les marques high-street.

    8 NAUSEE

    9 NAUSEE

    Mais il n’a pas dit son dernier mot, il y aura toujours un Golden Bear quelque part attendant l’appel de la forêt.

    10 FINALE
    1459727505_1cfa97c072_b

     

    1954-1955lettermansclub_farmington_new_mexicoCapture d’écran 2014-12-09 à 19.35.33

    Mode Clique Wear Teddy

    Commentaires
    Julien Gangnet
    Auteur - Connoisseur - Concepteur rédacteur
    Voir tous ses billets
    Newsletter