Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! No result

    CLIQUE WEAR: the white tank top

    What do Tony Soprano and yours truly have in common?
    Answer: we both sleep in a tank top.

    But we also wear one during the day – under a shirt, of course, or a polo shirt, or even under a T-shirt. It keeps you warm in the winter, and regulates your body temperature in summer.

    Once you’ve got into the habit of wearing a tank top, you can’t go back. You feel naked without one.

    Sturdy, popular and chic all at once, the tank top goes with anything and can be worn in all circumstances. There is one golden rule, however: it has to be Hanes or Fruit of the Loom. Only those brands make tank tops of the highest quality: 100% ribbed cotton, a TAGLESS® printed label to avoid itching, and an ideal cut, close-fitting and long enough to tuck in to ward off the wintry weather without any risk of it riding up.

    But while Carmela bought Tony’s XXL models at the local Walmart, I’m another kettle of fish.
    In Paris, in 2015, you can find virtually anything you want clothes-wise. The slightest trend is served up to the Philistines, who snap up each new fad without a moment’s resistance. But NOT A SINGLE SHOP sells the aforementioned products, so vital to any self-respecting man’s wardrobe.

    (To any smartasses who might want to challenge that assertion, let me put you straight right away: the rumour that some were spotted at Ken Claude in the last century is untrue.)

    Obviously, there is always some ignoramus who will say that a tank top is a tank top: I am no spring chicken, and I can say with confidence, having tried them all, that from Gap to Éminence, not a single model holds a candle to these two.

    To tell you the truth, their unobtainability in France triggers contradictory emotions in me. Of course I am put out at not being able to buy them at my convenience, but I’m also secretly happy that aren’t on sale in every pale imitation of a concept store in the Marais.
    So, Mr Snobbypants here gets them shipped over from the US, in packets of 3 or 6, replacing them every six months when the white turns to grey. In a single click it’s done. I would invite anyone with high standards to do the same. Eschew mediocrity and settle for nothing less than the best.

    tumblr_m3jo63oxaU1qjuf7f

    One last thing. Please don’t, as many in France do, call them “marcels”. It’s disrespectful and cheap. It sounds like something from the sort of low-rent recent Parisian brands which pass off their blatant copies reinventions of the kind of denims and worn-out shoes worn by boules players as creative fashion design.

    10386998_1

    menace2society

    421166-eminem-en-2000-637x0-3 icon-dokers-style-13512328 magic-mike-matthew-mcconaughey-channing-tatum-joe-mangianello T-shirt-eminence-Marlon-Brando

    Fashion Clique Wear Tank top

    Comments
    Julien Gangnet
    Editorial writer
    All his posts

Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! Aucun résultat

    CLIQUE WEAR : le débardeur blanc

    Quel est le point commun entre Tony Soprano et votre serviteur ?
    Réponse : on dort tous les deux en débardeur.

    Mais on en porte aussi pendant la journée, sous une chemise évidemment et aussi sous un polo et même sous un T-shirt, l’hiver ça tient chaud et l’été ça régule la température.

    Et une fois qu’on a pris l’habitude, impossible de s’en passer, sinon on a l’impression d’être nu.

    Robuste, populaire et chic à la fois, le débardeur s’accorde avec tout en toute circonstance, mais pour autant, il y a une règle : les fournisseurs autorisés sont Hanes et Fruit of the Loom. Ce sont les seuls dont les débardeurs réunissent les plus hauts standards de qualité : 100 % coton côtelé, étiquette imprimée TAGLESS® anti-gratouille, coupe idéale près du corps et généreuse dans la longueur afin de se coincer sous la ceinture pour protéger des frimas sans risquer de remonter.

    Mais si Carmela achète les XXL de Tony au Walmart du coin, pour moi c’est une autre limonade.
    Figurez-vous qu’à Paris en 2015, alors qu’on peut pratiquement tout trouver en matière vestimentaire et que la moindre tendance est livrée en pâture aux Philistins qui s’en emparent sans coup férir, AUCUN magasin ne vend ces pièces des marques susnommées, pourtant indispensables à toute garde-robe masculine sérieuse.

    (Je préviens tout de suite les petits malins qui voudraient me test’ : la rumeur selon laquelle on en aurait aperçu chez Ken Claude au siècle dernier a fait long feu.)

    Évidemment, il y a toujours un béotien pour faire remarquer qu’un débardeur, c’est un débardeur : je ne suis pas le perdreau de l’année et je m’appuie sur un benchmark solide qui me permet d’affirmer que, de Gap à Éminence, il n’y a pas un seul modèle qui tienne la comparaison.

    À vrai dire, leur absence sur le territoire me procure des émotions contradictoires, je suis évidemment ennuyé de ne pas pouvoir les acheter à ma guise mais secrètement heureux de ne pas les retrouver dans tous les similis concepts stores du haut-marais.
    Alors en Monsieur Du Snob je les fais venir des États-Unis, conditionnés en paquet de 3 ou 6, et je les remplace tous les six mois quand le blanc a viré au gris, c’est simple comme un clique. J’invite les exigeants à faire de même et mépriser la médiocrité en choisissant tout simplement le meilleur.

    tumblr_m3jo63oxaU1qjuf7f

    Une dernière chose s’il vous plaît, interdisez-vous de les appeler des « marcels », c’est irrespectueux et cheap. Ça sonne comme le fond du panier des marques parisiennes récentes qui font passer leurs pompages rééditions de denims et de savates de boulistes pour de la création.

    10386998_1

    menace2society

    421166-eminem-en-2000-637x0-3 icon-dokers-style-13512328 magic-mike-matthew-mcconaughey-channing-tatum-joe-mangianello T-shirt-eminence-Marlon-Brando

    Mode Clique Wear Débardeur

    Commentaires
    Julien Gangnet
    Auteur - Connoisseur - Concepteur rédacteur
    Voir tous ses billets
    Newsletter