Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! No result

    Terry Richardson : The Sacred and The Profane

    While today we see him less and less in his signature flannel shirt, at 49, Terry Richardson has held onto his characteristic look: the thumbs up, the moustache, the side burns and the aviator glasses. And as always, the cheeky smile: that of a child caught in the act.

    Terry Richardson is a provocateur par excellence, a man obsessed with sex. A trashy updated version of “porno chic” popularised by Helmut Newton. His portraits of models and stars in very little clothing against a blank white wall rocketed him to fame.

    From Nicki Minaj to Miranda Kerr, Cara Delevingne to Beyoncé and Jaret Leto to Madonna, everyone reveals themselves in front of Terry Richardson who has cultivated a scandalous reputation as an underground master.

    His work inundates magazines, from advertisements to cover pages (Harper’s Bazaar, Lui, Purple, Rolling Stone). He has also directed several music videos; surely the most subversive and famous of the last few years is former Disney star Miley Cyrus’ “Wrecking Ball” in which Cyrus swings back and forth, naked on a wrecking ball.

    Is Terry Richardson more subdued today? He certainly gives this impression on the day we met at Perrotin Gallery in Paris. He is in the French capital for the opening of his exhibition “The Sacred and the Profane”, a series of photos taken on and around American highways the photographer traversed over the last two years. From this journey, Richardson brings us the cliches of a dualistic America, quasi-schizophrenic and lost between hypocritical moralism and excessive sexuality.

    Arts Clique x Terry Richardson

    Comments
    Mouloud Achour
    Editor-in-chief
    All his posts

Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! Aucun résultat

    Terry Richardson : Sacré Profane

    On le voit moins en chemise à carreaux ces derniers temps, mais à 49 ans, Terry Richardson conserve tout de même son look caractéristique : pouces levés, moustache, longues pattes sur les tempes et lunettes carrées. Et toujours ce même sourire malin, celui de l’enfant pris la main dans le sac.

    Terry Richardson, c’est la provoc’ à l’extrême, l’obsession du sexe. Une version trash, réactualisée, du « porno chic » popularisé par Helmut Newton. Ses portraits, en (très) petite tenue, de stars et de mannequins sur fond immaculé, l’ont rendu célèbre.

    De Nicki Minaj à Miranda Kerr, de Cara Delevingne à Beyoncé en passant par Jared Leto et Madonna, tout le monde se dévoile pour Terry Richardson, qui cultive d’année en année sa réputation sulfureuse de maître de l’underground.

    Le travail du photographe inonde les couvertures et pages de publicités des magazines (Harper’s Bazaar, Lui, Purple, Rolling Stone). Il réalise aussi quelques clips : parmi eux, sûrement l’un des plus subversifs – et célèbres – de ces dernières années : Wrecking Ball, où l’ex-star de Disney Miley Cyrus se balance nue sur un boulet de canon.

    Aujourd’hui, Terry Richardson s’est-il assagi ? C’est l’impression qu’il donne, lorsqu’on le rencontre à la galerie Perrotin, à Paris. Il est venu présenter « Le sacré et le profane », une série de photos prises au détour des autoroutes américaines, qu’il a sillonnées pendant deux ans. De son voyage, il ramène des clichés d’une Amérique duale, quasi-schizophrénique, perdue entre moralisme hypocrite et sexualité à outrance.

    Arts Clique x Terry Richardson

    Commentaires
    Mouloud Achour
    Rédacteur en chef
    Voir tous ses billets
    Newsletter