Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! No result

    CLIQUE TALK: One Direction fans are the true masters of the Internet

    The date is 28 October 2014. One Direction have currently sold 13 million albums in the five years since their questionable first steps in the British TV talent show “X Factor. Now Liam, Harry, Zayn, Niall and Louis, all between 20 and 23, are getting ready to release their new single – “Steal My Girl” – on YouTube. Fans all over the world have been gearing up for the last few days. Twitter is swarming with messages and action plans, unfathomable for those not in the loop. Their objective hasn’t changed: obliterate the record number of views in 24 hours. The pressure is almost unbearable, but they’re ready.

    I sit stupefied before this furious activity on the social networks. Suddenly, everything clicks. The true threat to humanity in the 21st century is not the Lizard People or the Illuminati, but an all-powerful and frighteningly real lobby that will destroy us all. This movement is made up of all the fans of the world’s most adored boy bands, such as One Direction. I decide make my own inquiries, determined to understand. Who are the “Directioners”? What networks do they use?

    THE TRUE MASTERS OF THE INTERNET

    This whole thing is actually Eli’s fault. Eli is not a girl, but a monkey, and it’s because of him I have dived daily into this dream-like, but quite unnerving parallel universe.

    The music video is met with resounding success as soon as it is released. “Steal My Girl” seduces the fans. It has to be said that it’s deliciously naïve. Filmed in the desert, the lads flirt for the camera. Smiles galore, dancers and balloons are all captured with cool in mind (it’s 40 degrees in the shade, but let’s keep our jackets on). In these sorts of videos, a cute little thing with a skinny waist is expected, it’s almost a ritual. They could even have picked a baby. But no, it’s a monkey. Meet Eli, with a pair of flashy, red Ray-Bans perched atop its nose. The animal rather takes to Louis, and offers him its hand. A little later, there’s even the suggestion of a kiss.

    tumblr_ndymcdrJWU1rlrb97o1_500

    PETA was on the lookout, however. After watching the clip a few days earlier, the American animal rights association thought it could spy mistreatment. So when – OMG – the video was blocked, suddenly made inaccessible, the culprit was quickly identified. In just a few minutes, a resistance formed. A large, and mainly adolescent group started the hashtag #DontDeleteStealmyGirl and a wave of 140-character indignation hit Twitter. The fans demanded the video’s return. Many Tweeters took a sarcastic approach, such as @alexia4568, who asked to be “mistreated like the monkey”. The video was quickly put back up to general relief, even if the Directioners didn’t break the record.

    Did they beat YouTube? Not for sure. Behind this story lurk obvious financial interests which go beyond the fans. Nevertheless, their ability to rally so quickly shocks me. It’s hard to estimate the number of Directioners, but there are several hundred thousand of them. Another event confirms my theories. The same day, they crashed Google during a “Hangout” – a chatroom with the band members – which saw too many people online at once. I also found out that Twitter was struggling to cope a few months earlier. The hyperactive fans were too enthusiastic for one social network. Fan communities are all over the Internet. The most renowned are probably the “Beliebers” (fans of Justin Bieber), the “Swifties” from Taylor Swift and the “Monsters” from Lady Gaga, (without forgetting the Selenators, the KatyCats, and oh so many others). These groups come in every flavour, and have varying degrees of power. Here, however, there is not a shred of doubt. In the world of fan bases, the Directioners hold sway.

    A BIT TOO NORMAL

    “We’re the first fans to be involved in marketing.” WHAM! While interviewing two Directioners, I was ready for almost anything, but not that. Is that what a fan is nowadays? A concentrated pool of lucidity? It’s 11 November in Paris, and I met the two girls currently sitting at my table by chance. I stumbled across a website where they were talking about the time they met their idols after an exhausting day hunting all over London.

    I have an image in my head. An image of love-struck teenagers, for whom nativity and poster-spattered walls are a given. I see them as around 15, tense with excitement for each new photo posted on Instagram, praying that someday one of the five band members will follow them on Twitter. According to Lisa, 15, (another Directioner I emailed), it’s the Holy Grail: “you can send them private messages!” My other mental images included choreographies and expressions of blissful love, like in this video.

    One Direction: Who are the Directioners by nonstoppeople-officiel

    I’m totally wrong, and it serves me right. Pauline and Marie are respectively 19 and 23, both wearing a little makeup, jeans and a blouse. Both have light, brown hair, turquoise-blue eyes, and the older one has some killer comebacks. She just got back from a year studying in London. The other one seems a little more childish, but also calmer. While fiddling with her long, brown hair, she tells me she’s at university just outside Paris, and she works part-time at a music venue. In a word, these two girls are n-o-r-m-a-l, and even quite nice. They’re nothing like the girls in the nerve-racking documentary on Channel 4 in 2013, which clearly selected the craziest fans (and simultaneously sparked the anger of the Directioners and their idols).

    They list the number of times they’ve seen One Direction play. Nine for Pauline, five for Marie, both over around two years. Even that seems normal, coming from them. “I see them more as journeys,” Pauline adds pensively.

    CONSPIRACY THEORY

    I’m in the company of veterans. According to them, the average age of a Directioner is between 12 and 18, and they specify that they’re mostly girls. As fans from the very beginning, they have the advantage of perspective. Yes, they’re big fans of “the love songs”, but that doesn’t stop them being skilled in the art of self-deprecation. They both admit to worshiping the band members, and they find it hilarious. All five are included in this cult: Zayn, “who looks like Aladdin”, Louis with his delicate features, Liam, Niall and Harry, the leader. “He’s so cute!”

    The girls don’t make a big fuss about it though. They’re aware that when you’re around 20, being a massive boy band fan can “seem odd”, and actually asked me to change their names for the interview. One of them has created a “fanfic” – a fictional work inspired by the boys’ lives – but they both want to step back from the “75% of younger fans” who “can sometimes be a bit hysterical.” They would never, unlike some fans, spend hours about the “Larry” theory. Or Narry, or Zarry. Or even Ziam. Come again…?

    “‘Larry’ has been the centre of a huge conspiracy since the start of the X-Factor” explains Marie, who sees I’m lost. Many fans have proclaimed that Louis and Harry (‘Larry’) are madly in love, but terribly unhappy. They say the boys are hiding themselves. Wanting them to own up, they encourage the supposedly star-crossed lovers by posting hundreds of drawings and videos aimed at making them come out. Ever since, the two haven’t been seen next to each other. You see? The true conspiracy theory is probably not what you were thinking…

    ESPIONAGE AND A SECRET LANGUAGE

    Pauline and Marie are snipers. They know everything, immediately. Possibly the world’s most qualified Internet spies, they specialise in geo-localisation networks. They prefer Twitter and Instagram to Facebook as the first two are directly updated by the band members themselves. One of them tells me how, in just a few hours, they managed to track down the One Direction studio next to a motorway in the middle of the beautiful English countryside. In their hurry to post the photo on Instagram, one of the band’s friends forgot to deactivate the photo’s geo-localisation. One second was all it took. By the time they deleted the image, the information was already in the hands of the fans. In the end, the girls decided against going to the studio. Too far, too dangerous.

    When the Directioners want to make themselves heard, flaunt their satisfaction or even complain, they join forces on the Internet. To get their message across, they have a fearsome weapon: the mass tweet. They create hashtags which appear on the side of Twitter users’ screens, indicating which subjects are trending the most. These key words are clear for the fans, but illegible for those who haven’t mastered the basics of being a Directioner. Here’s an example: one of the latest hashtags read #GetwellsoonLiam, as Liam was ill and his fans wanted to wish him a speedy recovery. “I once trended a hashtag”, says Pauline, who pines for the golden age when this happened daily. “The French fans were a little more organised back then. We all agreed to tweet the same thing at a certain time, and it worked!” I hold back from telling her that it still has its effect on me…

    RELATIONS WITH THE MUSIC INDUSTRY

    The girls have already guessed the next question. “They don’t have to lift a finger, we do all the work for them.” By “they” the girls mean the industry’s publicity gurus. Marie has a source account, one of the Twitter accounts closely followed by the fans, which compiles all available information about the One Direction. Hers is one of the oldest on the network. She goes on to say that “Many of the source accounts are connected to Sony, or rather Rise Up – the online agency which looks after One Direction.” The agency contacts the source accounts ang politely asks them to take care of some of the band’s promotion. In exchange, the fans receive modest remuneration such as queue-jumping passes for gigs and free albums. “Behind most of these accounts are young girls who spend all day taking turns in between classes to find information to tweet to their followers,” says Emilie, from Rise Up. “This is our way of empowering their work, and of thanking them for the constant representation and exposure they provide to the artists.”

    Meeting the band and free tickets are never part of the deal, however. It’s a shame: “on their last tour, the agencies pushed it a bit far,” says Marie. “VIP tickets were being sold for around 190 euros!” But the small gifts suit the two girls. “It’s a win-win relationship.” Pauline and Marie would never criticise the web-marketing teams. Recently, the Directioners were nominated at the American Music Awards in the “biggest fans” category. To win they had to tweet a particular hashtag so they could be counted. Needless to say, the Directioners won the award. “I don’t care about it,” says Pauline, “but hey, it’s something we HAVE to do.” She continues: “they make it clear that the more you do, the more likely it is you’ll see them.” “If the album “Four” sells well, the boys might even come and visit us,” says Marie. “When they need us, they send us a message.” “It’s a bit sad I suppose,” admits Pauline.

    THEY’RE EVERYWHERE

    We all know each other”. Marie tells me that amongst the source accounts, the most diligent Directioners organise themselves and tell the others what to do. This type of Twitter account is rarely management by just one person. Three or four fans will often share the workload. One will post photos, while the other finds the gossip. “I know more people on Twitter than in real life,” says Marie. The online community is both close-knit and international. “Everyone speaks English,” says Pauline. According to Nilesh Kumar, who manages a Facebook fan page with over 16,000 followers, “As soon as we see something unfair about One Direction online, we know that there are millions of us to oppose it. The Directioners are a huge, global family,”

    The girls don’t really want to make these virtual friends a reality. Although they do make exceptions. For the release of “More Than This”, some of the Directioners met up in Paris. They created several groups scattered across the capital, filmed a video and sent it to the band’s managers. They did it to please One Direction, but also in the hope that their tour would make it over to Paris faster. The Directioners have also taken the concept of “projects” from the Justin Bieber fan base. Before a gig, the fans organise a mass movement to surprise the band. Marie and Pauline told me how, in April 2013 at Bercy in Paris, they cooked up the “Kiss You Project.” First on Twitter, then four hours before the gig while standing in front of the venue, the girls rallied the fans, giving them precise instructions. During the concert, the plan came together. On their signal, when the band played “Kiss You”, thousands of people all held up signs with lips painted on them. “We’re on the DVD, and in the Yearbook,” say the two girls. “They even tweeted about it!”

    At the end of the interview, I’m left pensive. Seeking out these fan girls, wanting to see something other than a faceless crowd of groupies, and finding a pretext to make fun of the magazine “Le Point” ended up teaching me a thing or two. But something’s bothering me. So far, the Directioners are 15 on average, and this whole lobby theory isn’t for real, it’s just about the music. So what happens when they find a passion for something else? Try to imagine their energy, their ability to organise themselves, their mass power used to aid a political or social cause. Pauline can’t see it. “If they tweeted about other stuff, I don’t think it would work. If it’s about music, yeah, why not? But they’re not interested in anything else.” Perhaps not for now. But wait and see what happens when this generation grows up…

    Photo ©John Wright

    Music Clique Talk One Direction

    Comments
    Laura Aronica
    Journalist
    All his posts

Les réseaux sociaux
  • Oops! Aucun résultat

    CLIQUE TALK : Les fans des One Direction sont les vrais patrons d’Internet

    28 octobre 2014. Cinq ans et 13 millions d’albums écoulés depuis leurs débuts hasardeux dans le télécrochet britannique « X Factor », Liam, Harry, Zayn, Niall et Louis, tous entre 20 et 23 ans, s’apprêtent à sortir sur YouTube le clip de leur nouvelle chanson « Steal My Girl ». Depuis plusieurs jours, les fans du monde entier s’activent. Twitter fourmille de messages et de plans d’action, incompréhensibles pour les non-initiés. Leur objectif, c’est le même que d’habitude : pulvériser le record du nombre de visualisations en 24 heures. La pression est presque insoutenable, mais ils sont prêts.

    J’observe l’agitation sur les réseaux sociaux, médusée. Soudain, pour moi tout s’éclaire. Le vrai danger du XXIe siècle, ce ne sont pas les Reptiliens ou les Illuminati. Il y a un lobby surpuissant et bien réel, et il nous avalera tous. C’est celui des admirateurs du boys band le plus adulé au monde, les One Direction. Je décide de mener l’enquête, bien résolue à comprendre. Les “Directioners”, qui sont-ils ? Quels sont leurs réseaux ?

    LES VRAIS MAÎTRES D’INTERNET

    Toute cette histoire, c’est la faute d’Eli. Eli n’est pas une fille. C’est un singe, et c’est à cause de lui que j’ai plongé, d’un jour à l’autre, dans cet univers parallèle, un peu lunaire mais surtout déroutant.

    A la minute où sort le clip, le succès est en marche. « Steal My Girl » ravit les fans. Il faut dire qu’il est délicieux de naïveté. Filmés dans le désert, les garçons y font les joli-coeurs – sourires à tout va, danseuses et ballons, le tout dans une ambiance stylée (40 degrés à l’ombre, mais surtout gardons nos vestes). Dans une vidéo de ce type, l’apparition d’une entité mignonne et de très petite taille est attendue, quasi-rituelle. Ç’aurait pu être un bébé, ils ont choisi un singe. C’est Eli. Le museau chaussé de Ray-Ban rouges flashy, l’animal s’éprend de Louis, lui donne la main. Un peu plus tard, il esquisse un bisou.

    tumblr_ndymcdrJWU1rlrb97o1_500

    Mais la PETA veille. En prévisualisant le clip quelques jours plus tôt, l’association américaine de défense des animaux a cru déceler là de la maltraitance. Alors lorsque – drame – la vidéo bloque, soudain illisible, le coupable est tout trouvé. En quelques minutes, la résistance s’organise. Mobilisation, générale et principalement adolescente, autour d’un mot-dièse à rallonge : #DontDeleteStealmyGirl. “N’effacez pas Steal My Girl », en Français. Un flot d’indignation en 140 caractères fait vrombir Twitter. Les fans exigent le retour de la vidéo. Beaucoup sont sardoniques, comme @alexia4568, qui demande à « être maltraitée comme le singe ». Assez vite, la vidéo est de retour. Soulagement général, même si finalement, le record n’est pas battu.

    Ont-ils fait plier YouTube ? Pas sûr. Derrière cette histoire, il y a évidemment des intérêts économiques qui dépassent les fans. Tout de même, leur capacité à se mobiliser aussi vite me frappe. Difficile d’estimer le nombre de Directioners, mais ils se comptent par centaines de milliers. Un autre épisode vient confirmer mes hypothèses. Le même jour, ils font planter Google, à l’occasion d’un « Hangout », un « tchat » avec les membres du groupe. Trop de connexions. On m’apprend aussi que quelques mois plus tôt, c’est Twitter qui vacillait. En cause : l’hyperactivité des fans – trop d’enthousiasme pour un seul réseau social. Les communautés de fans peuplent Internet. Les plus connues sont sans doutes celles des Beliebers, les fans de Justin Bieber, des Swifties de Taylor Swift ou des « Monsters » de Lady Gaga (sans oublier les Selenators, les KatyCats, et bien d’autres noms encore). Elles sont protéiformes, plus ou moins puissantes. Mais là, pas de doute. Dans le monde des fanbases, ce sont les Directioners qui mènent la danse.

    UN PEU TROP NORMALES

    «En tant que fans, on est les premiers à faire du market’» Vlam. En inteviewant deux Directioneuses, je m’attendais à presque tout. Mais pas à ça. C’est donc ça, une fan, de nos jours ? Un concentré de lucidité ? Les deux filles avec qui je m’attable, ce 11 novembre à Paris, je les ai trouvées un peu par hasard, au détour d’une page Internet. Elles y racontaient leur rencontre avec leurs idoles, après une fastidieuse journée de chasse dans le Tout-Londres.

    Dans ma tête, une image. Celle, de l’adolescente amoureuse, chez qui le poster au mur et la candeur ne sont pas en option (poke, Eminem, je t’aime toujours). Je les voyais la quinzaine, prêtes à bondir à chaque nouvelle photo postée sur Instagram, priant pour qu’un beau jour, l’un des 5 membres du groupe les suive sur Twitter (selon Lisa, 15 ans, une autre Directioneuse jointe par mail, c’est le Graal : « on peut leur envoyer des messages privés »). Ou encore avec des chorégraphies et un air béat d’amour, comme sur cette vidéo.


    One Direction : Qui sont les Directioners par nonstoppeople-officiel

    Raté – et c’est bien fait pour moi. Pauline et Marie ont respectivement 19 et 23 ans. Un peu de maquillage, un jean et une blouse. Cheveux châtains, yeux bleux turquoise et répartie en diable pour la plus âgée. Elle est à peine rentrée de Londres, où elle a étudié un an. La seconde a des airs un peu plus enfantins. Elle est aussi plus calme. En tiraillant ses longs cheveux bruns, elle me raconte qu’elle est à la fac, dans la banlieue de Paris, et bosse en même temps dans une salle de concert. En un mot, ces deux filles sont n-o-r-m-a-l-e-s, même extrêmement sympathiques. Rien à voir avec ce documentaire anxiogène, diffusé sur Channel 4 fin 2013, qui a visiblement sélectionné les plus folles de toutes (et provoqué l’ire simultanée des Directioners et de leurs idoles).

    Elles égrènent le nombre de concerts où elles se sont rendues. 9 pour Pauline. 5 pour Marie. En deux ans environ. Même ça, cela semble normal, dans leur bouche. L’air songeur, Pauline explique : « Je vois plutôt ça comme des voyages ».

    THEORIE DU COMPLOT

    Je suis tombée sur des vétérans. Selon elle, la moyenne d’âge des Directioners se situe entre 12 et 18 ans (elles précisent qu’ils s’agit en grande majorité de filles). L’avantage : fans depuis le début, elles ont plus de recul que les autres. Alors oui, disent-elles, elles aiment “les chansons d’amour”. Mais l’un n’empêche pas l’autre, mes deux Directioneuses sont aussi des championnes de l’autodérision. Elles vouent un culte plutôt franc aux cinq membres du groupe, et ça les fait bien rire. A Zayn, « celui qui ressemble à Aladdin », à Louis et ses traits fins, à Liam et à Niall – et à Harry, le leader. « Trop chou ».

    Elles ne le clament pas pour autant, conscientes qu’autour de la vingtaine, s’affirmer fan d’un boys band peut « paraître étrange ». Elles m’ont d’ailleurs demandé de changer leurs prénoms. L’une a créé une « fanfic » – une fiction inspirée de la vie réelle des garçons, mais elles tiennent à se distinguer du « 75% de fans plus jeunes » et « un peu hystériques parfois ». Elles n’iraient jamais, comme certaines, débattre des heures de la théorie Larry. Ou Narry. Ou Zarry, ou encore Ziam. A vos souhaits ?

    « Larry c’est une grosse conspiration depuis le début d’X-Factor » m’explique Marie, qui me sent perdue. De nombreuses fans ont décrété que Louis et Harry vivent une histoire d’amour, passionnelle mais malheureuse. Selon elles, ils se cachent. Voulant les aider à assumer leur choix, elles les encouragent avec force dessins et vidéos, censées les aider à assumer leur relation. Depuis, les pauvres ne s’affichent plus l’un à côté de l’autre. (Quand on vous dit que la vraie théorie du complot n’est sûrement pas celle que vous croyez).

    ESPIONNAGE ET LANGAGE SECRET

    Pauline et Marie sont des snipers. Elles savent tout, instantanément. Bac +13 au moins en espionnage Internet, option réseaux géolocalisation, elles préfèrent Twitter et Instagram à Facebook, car les premiers sont alimentés directement par les garçons. L’une d’elles me raconte comment, en l’espace de quelques heures, elles ont réussi à tracer le studio des garçons situé près d’une autoroute, au beau milieu de la campagne anglaise. Pressé de poster une photo sur Instagram, un de leur proche a oublié de désactiver la géolocalisation de la photo. Une seconde a suffi. Le temps de supprimer l’image, l’information circulait déjà parmi les fans. Elles ne sont finalement pas allées jusqu’au studio. Trop dangereux, trop loin.

    Quand les Directioners veulent se faire entendre, manifester leur satisfaction ou bien protester, elles unissent leurs forces sur Internet. Pour faire passer un message, elles disposent d’une arme, redoutable : le tweet massif. Elles créent des « hashtags », que les utilisateurs de Twitter voient surgir sur le côté de leur écran, qui indique en temps réel quels sujets sont les plus à la mode. Ces mots-clés sont limpides pour elles, mais impossibles à comprendre lorsque l’on ne maîtrise pas les fondamentaux du Directioner. Exemple : l’un des derniers en date, #GetwellsoonLiam. Liam était malade, les fans ont tenu à lui souhaiter bon rétablissement. «J’ai déjà fait monter un hashtag» explique Pauline, qui regrette l’âge d’or où cela arrivait quotidiennement. «Les fans françaises étaient un peu plus mobilisées. On se disait : aujourd’hui, à telle heure, on tweete toutes pareil. Et ça marchait». Je me garde bien de lui dire que sur moi, ça fait toujours son petit effet.

    RELATIONS AVEC L’INDUSTRIE DU DISQUE

    Les filles ont anticipé la question suivante. « Ils ont rien à faire, on fait le taf à leur place ». Ils, ce sont les communicants. Marie a un compte source, l’un de ces comptes Twitter extrêmement suivis par les fans, qui compilent toutes les informations disponibles sur les One Direction. Le sien est l’un des plus anciens du réseau. Elle m’explique. « Beaucoup de comptes source sont en relation avec Sony, enfin plutôt avec Rise Up, l’agence web qui s’occupe des One Direction ». L’agence contacte les comptes sources et leur propose courtoisement de s’occuper d’une partie de la promo. En échange, les fans reçoivent de modestes gratifications. Des bracelets coupe-file aux concerts, un album… « Ce sont pour la plupart des jeunes filles qui se relaient toute la journée entre les cours pour trouver des infos et les tweeter à leurs followers », explique Emilie de l’agence Rise Up, contactée par mail. « C’est notre manière de valoriser ce travail et de les remercier pour le relai continu et l’exposition qu’elles offrent aux artistes. »

    Jamais de rencontre à la clé, en revanche, ni de place gratuites. Dommage : «Sur la dernière tournée ils se sont un peu lâchés », raconte Marie. « Les places VIP se négociaient autour de 190 euros ». Ces petits cadeaux leur conviennent, disent-elles. « C’est une relation gagnant-gagnant ». Pour les deux fans, hors de question de critiquer les équipes web-marketing. Récemment, les Directioners ont été nommés aux Americans Music Awards, dans la catégorie « biggest fans », les « plus grands fans ». Pour gagner, il fallait tweeter avec un hashtag particulier, pour qu’ils puissent être décomptés. Les Directioners ont remporté le prix. «Je m’en fous», lâche Pauline. «Mais bon, c’est des choses qu’on DOIT faire ». Elle ajoute, placide : « Ils te font bien comprendre que plus t’en fais, plus t’as de chances de les voir ». « Si l’album Four se vend bien, on pourra avoir une venue des garçons », dit Marie.  « Quand ils ont besoin de nous, ils nous envoient un mail ». Pauline acquiesce. « C’est un peu triste hein… ».

    ELLES SONT PARTOUT

    « Tout le monde se connaît ». Marie explique qu’entre comptes source, les Directioners les plus assidus s’organisent et expliquent quoi faire à la masse. Un compte Twitter de ce type est rarement géré par une seule personne. Elles sont souvent 3 ou 4 à se partager les tâches. L’une poste les photos, l’autre déniche les infos… « Je connais plus de gens sur Twitter que dans la vraie vie » dit Marie. La communauté est soudée, et internationale. « Tout le monde parle anglais » dit Pauline. Nilesh Kumar, qui gère une page fan Facebook – 16 000 fans à son actif – me précise, en anglais : « Dès que l’on voit quelque chose d’injuste à propos des One Direction sur Internet, nous savons que nous sommes des millions à s’y opposer. Les Directioners sont une grande famille mondiale ».

    Ces amitiés virtuelles, les filles ne comptent pas particulièrement les transposer à la vie réelle. A part occasionnellement. Pour la sortie de « More than this », des Directioneuses se sont retrouvées à Paris. Elles ont créé plusieurs groupes, disséminés dans la capitale et ont tourné un clip, envoyé au « management » des garçons. Pour faire plaisir aux One Direction, mais aussi dans l’espoir qu’ils viennent plus vite en concert. Les Directioners ont aussi généralisé le concept de « projets », emprunté aux fans de Justin Bieber. Avant des concerts, les fans s’organisent pour créer un mouvement de foule, une surprise destinée au groupe. Marie et Pauline me racontent comment, en avril 2013 à Bercy, elles ont fomenté le « Kiss You Project ». Sur Twitter d’abord, puis quatre heures avant le concert, devant la salle, elles mobilisent les fans, leur donnant des instructions bien particulières. Pendant le concert, bingo. A leur signal, quand la chanson « Kiss You » retentit, des milliers de personnes lèvent à l’unisson une pancarte-bisou. « On est dans le DVD, dans le Yearbook » précisent-elles. « lls ont même tweeté dessus »

    Fin de l’entretien, tout ça me laisse songeuse. Aller à la rencontre de ces fangirls, vouloir y voir autre chose que d’énièmes groupies, et trouver un prétexte pour me moquer un peu des couvertures du Point s’est révélé instructif. Mais quelque chose me perturbe. Pour l’instant, les fans de One Diretion ont 15 ans en moyenne – et toute cette histoire de lobby n’est pas sérieuse, il ne s’agit que de musique. Oui, mais… Que se passera-t-il, le jour où elles se prendront de passion pour un autre sujet ? Essayez d’imaginer leur énergie, cette capacité d’organisation, ce pouvoir de mobilisation au service d’une cause politique, sociale ?  Pauline a du mal. « Si on tweetait sur autre chose, je pense pas que ça marcherait. Si c’est de la musique, oui pourquoi pas. Mais pour le reste non, ça ne les intéresse pas». Pour l’instant, non. Mais attendez de voir quand cette génération-là aura grandi.

    Photo ©John Wright

    Musique Clique Talk One Direction

    Commentaires
    Laura Aronica
    Rédactrice en chef adjointe
    Voir tous ses billets

    Utilisation des cookies

    Découvrez comment fonctionnent les cookies et comment changer vos paramètres. Si vous continuez à utiliser notre site sans changer vos paramètres, vous consentez à l’utilisation de cookies sur notre site.

    Newsletter